We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent interesting food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amanzi

Amanzi
38 Arwenack Street, Falmouth TR11 3JF, England
+44 1326 312678
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 168 Restaurants in Falmouth
Cuisines: African, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are a family-run restaurant creating African inspired dishes made from Cornish produce.
chelmsford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellent interesting food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

we had a terrific meal there on a sunday evening. very interesting flavours. the ribs are really special!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    50
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Interesting and Unusual Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This restaurant serves something different. Many of the dishes are African in origin, not always to everyone's taste because the main courses tend to be quite sweet which Western palates may not be accustomed to. However we think it's good to try different things and we certainly enjoyed our meal here. The ingredients are excellent and the service very efficient and friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent service,hospitality and foof”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

As soon as we arrived, the owner welcomed us and was very clear about what dishes were on and which fish was unavailable. I ordered the Cornish fish platter and she gave me a step by step guide at my request on how to tackle eating a crab. The sauce that was served with it was fantastic and complemented the fish really well. She was very patient and helpful with my elderly mother in law who was fretting about ordering monkey gland sauce on her steak. She assured her that nothing in the sauce came from any part of a monkey!!
I loved the choice of food and the mix of local produce with an African twist. I would definitely recommend a visit and would go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

On a weekend visit to Falmouth, we were looking for something different from Hotel Food, as good as it is at The Penmere Manor Hotel.
We found the Amanzi Restaurant during the day, luckily we booked the last table for Saturday Evening. The food was fantastic, the menu very different to all the other restaurants. Service was very good despite the place been packed out. The food , flavoured with spices from the African Continent, was simply amazing. One of the best meals for some time.
A big Thank You to the staff for a wonderful evening. It finished off my birthday week on a definite high!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday Roast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

One if the best roast beef dinners I have had ( other than homemade), the beef was very tender, lots of gravy, enormous Yorkshire puddings and a good mix of vegetables.
Only reason I didn't give 5 stars was I thought the staff a little abrasive, horseradish had to be asked for and it took a long time to get served with drinks.
Would definitely go back and try an evening meal.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amanzi also viewed

 
Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Amanzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanzi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.