We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic coffee stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waymarker

The Waymarker
Gweek-Penryn Road | Trewardreva, Constantine, Falmouth TR11 5QD, England
+44 1326 341323
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 175 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $48
Cuisines: Seafood, Sandwiches, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A hidden rural restaurant and function venue located on the edge of disused quarry workings on the Penryn to Gweek road in the North Helford Zone, Cornwall. Come along and enjoy THE WAYMARKER'S freshly prepared food & drinks with unparralelled seclusion & tranquility. Sit back and take in the surrounding nature with uninterrupted views across our pond and varied tree-scape. With the benefit of fully disabled accessibility and facilities everyone can come along to enjoy our venue. FREE Wi-Fi/Fully Licenced/Activity & Nature Trails/Off-Road Parking.Our Mission at The Waymarker is to combine our peaceful surroundings with the abundant high-quality local produce and our homemade-quality cooking to provide great refreshment for both mind and soul.
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic coffee stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Found this amazing place on our way home from holiday - only wanted coffee and a tea cake but it was presented with strawberries and the works! Really good coffee - very hot, and very reasonable price. Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    20
    6
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best presented cream tea I've found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

An amazing cream tea beautifully presented and with fresh fruit - see the picture. In additional to traditional scones you can have cinnamon and sultana or butternut squash and maple at no extra cost. Cost £6.75 for tea or coffee and two scones with cream and jam. They gave us an extra scone for free as the delicious butternut ones were a bit small. Staff really good too, very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

I have been on a number of occasions to this little jewel and it just keeps getting better.

Food is great, they are always experimenting and trying new dishes and forever making their core dishes better.

Amazing place, really worth the visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had heard good comments about The Waymarker so were looking forward to having lunch. Unfortunately it didn't live up to our expectations. One of the dishes we ordered was the bread with hoummous, balsamic & olives which we felt was not to a good standard. The bread was dry, the hoummous was tasteless and very bland, the balsamic was not of a good quality and was very acidic, and the olives were from a jar soaked in brine. For this kind of dish I would expect fresh bread, tasty hoummous, good thick balsamic and olives in oil.
The setting is in a good location but sadly the food was not up to standard.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic food, fantastic location and even better owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Service was excellent from the start, with a warm welcome and a fantastic selection of choices. We were all impressed from the start. The children in the group were catered for brilliantly and the atmosphere was so relaxed and enjoyable. I had the scampi as a main and the portion size was incredible! Presentation of both food and restaurant was impeccable throughout and the bread and butter pudding was off the scale!

I look forward to visiting again in the very near future!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waymarker also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Waymarker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waymarker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.