We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Friendly and Beautiful Food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ming's Garden

Ming's Garden
40-41 Church Street, Falmouth TR11 3EB, England
44 1326 314413
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 156 restaurants in Falmouth
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Kenilworth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“So Friendly and Beautiful Food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We always visit here when we are in Falmouth because it does everything a restaurant should do, every time you go.
The food is very , very nice.
You are made to feel welcome as soon as you walk in, especially the children who also love this place.
The prices are very reasonable and you always feel you have had good value for money.
The restaurant itself has a nice feel to it and is roomy.
Can't really fault it and that is reflected in the number of times we go back.
I would have no hesitation in recommending Mings Garden to anyone, especially those with children as they are made to feel especially welcome.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

54% Recommend
    17
    14
    16
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ming's Garden was bloomin' lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Impressive building and expectations as high as the ceiling in this old bank. Table available straight away. Pleasant staff and quick service. Not made to feel silly when asking for knives and forks (I like my food hot and chopsticks are an effort for me). Nice selection of 4 starters for 2. Mains were equally as good (although curry could have been a little more spicy). Followed by Banana Long Boat. Drinks were reasonably priced. Altogether a good meal in nice surroundings. Not many covers downstairs, but the phone was ringing a fair bit. They seem to do quite a few takeaways.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good Food and Quick Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had dinner here this evening and was our first Chinese meal in a very long time, and we were pleased...it was very good. We arrived early and the place was already filling up (they do a special early-bird dinner for £8.95). We ordered a la carte, with a selection of 4 starters for £5.50 per person. We then had a duck course, followed by two main courses and rice...a bottle of wine and the bill was £59. The food came quickly, was hot, and very tasty...we thought it was good food, good service and would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Better be hungry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Whilst staying in Falmouth for work I went to this restaurant for a meal with my colleagues and we had the August feast. The name understated the feast it was not only was it super quality food the volume would satisfy the most hungry. The service was very attentive and pleasant, the surroundings comfortable. The drinks were reasonably priced and a had a reasonable choice. Highly recommended, if you like Chinese food it is a must when you are in Falmouth.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Indifferent chinese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Mings Garden looks good from the outside located in an old bank building in the centre of Falmouth. Inside again looked fine, clean starched linen on the tables, greeter had a big smile. Plenty of room in the restaurant on a Saturday night at 10pm. However the service was so swift I guess they all wanted to get home.
The food was not much good, we had two different chicken dishes; which if it was not for the sauce and plates could have been the same. The rice was a bit sticky. Give their spring rolls a miss very hard, not chunchy.. Also all bit pricy by normal standards. I think they cater for the holiday makers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ming's Garden also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Ming's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ming's Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.