We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay food, terrible staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gylly Beach Cafe

Gylly Beach Cafe
Cliff Road, Falmouth TR11 4PA, England
+44 1326 312884
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 156 restaurants in Falmouth
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Okay food, terrible staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The staff are "too cool for school"- I was ignored by everyone behind the bar whilst they finished off their conversations.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    235
    126
    65
    35
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great cafe in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We visited here with my daughter on 17 November for lunch. It was a cool day, but we sat out on the protected verandah. Ordering was easy and the staff were very helpful. My wife has a gluten free diet and my daughter is vegetarian, so we chose some items to share. All very tasty - not the cheapest but the quality was good. Seemed very popular and must get busy in the summer.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not family friendly..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Went in for a spot of lunch to warm up on a cold winters day, especially as the kids were frozen.
The staff greeting was not very warming. The choice of food was ok but there was little on offer for Kids and it was all very expensive. The staff refused point blank to warm up our baby food so she had to go without as nothing else suitable was available for her. The location of the cafe is right on the beach and as beaches are visited by families you would expect more to be done to encourage families in to eat.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simon0124, Owner at Gylly Beach Cafe, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam
In response to your recent review of my establishment I would like to take this opportunity to express regret that you were not fully satisfied with your visit.
Our Health & Safety advisors have told us that we should not heat baby's bottles in a microwave as it could result in a child not receiving the correct temperature food, however our policy is to provide the customer with a container of hot water and allow the customer to warm the food themselves. I have asked all my members of staff if they still offer this service and they have assured me they do. If you did not receive this offer I can only apologise.
All our children's dishes are freshly prepared on the premises and cooked to order and we believe we charge the market price and have not received any other complaints concerning price or choice.
Simon Daw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food, awesome atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Had a meeting recently at the cafe and had such a nice time. Airy, comfortable ambience inside with really friendly chatty staff and the terrace was full of people enjoying the view. Went back a couple nights later on a Sunday and there was an amazing band playing which was free and had such a great chilli and a pint for seven pounds!!!!! That's awesome, love this place!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“'Cafe' doesn't do it justice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Gylly Beach Café in Falmouth, Cornwall, is a culinary gem. The views from the terrace on a sunny day are superb and so is the food. The name ‘beach café’ does not do it justice as we discovered on a recent visit. Much of the produce is locally-sourced so the seafood is highly recommended. Two of us had the seafood taster plate which was excellent and changes according to the day’s catch although crab, shrimp and mussels often feature. The sautéed wild mushrooms came perched on a fluffy brioche with a poached egg and hollandaise sauce, a winning combination. Mains were butternut rosti with fennel marmalade, greens and confit shallot, rib eye steak (the only slight let-down with a watery, overly peppered sauce) and sea bass, done to a tee. Desserts maintained the overall high standard with an original chocolate tasting plate, a highly-calorific but delicious pecan pie with, of course, clotted cream, and a selection of Cornish cheeses for which there was no exorbitant surcharge for once, unless you think paying 50p more than the next most expensive dessert is exorbitant. A truly memorable meal and a decent, reasonably priced wine list. If you’re lucky enough to have friends in the town as we do, it’s now become a definite dining date, but if not go there anyway. Maybe combine it with the town's excellent oyster and beer festivals in October but make sure you have an exit strategy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gylly Beach Cafe also viewed

 
Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Gylly Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gylly Beach Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.