We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wonderful Stay"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Guest House

The Palms Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Palms Guest House
Save
You added The Palms Guest House to your Saves list
11 Castle Drive, Falmouth TR114NF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 78 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Tidworth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Wonderful Stay"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

100% all round!!! From the moment of arrival the owners were friendly and attentive. The house is gorgeous and has a warm and comfortable atmosphere. The room and facilities were spotless. I am looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed in the Palms a few days ago and found the owners to be extremely rude in the way they treated us, the guest house its self was fine, and clean, and in a good location, but the attitude of the owners leaves a lot to be desired. We have stayed in a lot of b and bs, and guest houses over the years without any problems, but this has to be the worst we have ever been treated, and we would certainly NOT recommend the Palms or stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We had a really lovely stay. The owners had just the right balance of letting us get on with it and offering advice on the local area when we needed it. The house is charming and very different with the 1930's ( I think!) theme. It was beautifully clean, had all the amenities you would need and a magical location on the peninsula- ask for Rm 2 and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

A bit like stepping back in time to the bygone age of the English Riviera - a characterful place, with genteel decor. Very clean and comfortable though, with modern bathroom fittings. Cliff was friendly, helpful and something of a craftsman it seems judging by an exterior wooden spiral staircase he was constructing. Located between the town centre (about 10 minutes walk) and the castle on the headland, the room I stayed in had extensive views across the docks and harbour.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

My boyfriend and I had booked for 2 nights at the Palms Guest House in August 2011, and we were by no means disappointed with our stay. The owners, Cliff and Jenny, were extremely welcoming and hospitable, and are dedicated to making your stay a comfortable one. They are also more than happy to advise you on local services and attractions.
We had the room at the front of the house, with a gorgeous clear view of the sea. The room was very comfortable and had a lot of space, as well as 2 armchairs, a large wardrobe, a television and refreshments and a kettle. The bathroom was also generously spaced, with a large bath tub, power shower, dressing table and some cosmetic products provided. All the rooms in the guest house were exceptionally clean and well-presented.
Our breakfasts were a cooked full English (I am a vegetarian and was well catered for), as well as a choice of cereals, fruit juice and toast, which were all delicious. Cliff and Jenny serve breakfast between 7.30-9am, I believe.
The guest house itself is located ideally for those travelling by train - it is literally down the road and around the corner from the train station - we were rather surprised at how easily we managed to find it! It is, of course, only a stones' throw from the beach, is located in a lovely area, and is only about a 10 minutes' stroll from the town centre (again, very easy to find).
Our only regret is that we didn't stay long enough!! We couldn't reccommend this guest house more highly, and look forward to our next visit!!

Room Tip: I could only suggest booking relativley in advance, and asking for bedroom number 2 (this is the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011 via mobile

Awesome room - with genuine sea view (not just an inch if you stand on tip toes like some other places that claim the same!).

Very clean - very nice big bathroom. Big comfy bed. Free biscuits! Good breakfast.

Oh and they have wifi but they do not advertise it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-On-Trent
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Cliff and Jenny are two lovely people who made us very welcome when we stayed for four nights recently. The room we had overlooked the bay and was very comfortable. The en-suite is large and modern. The breakfasts were very good. The guest haouse is in a very good location, two minute walk from the docks and ten minutes to the harbour area. Overall a very enjoyable stay. We plan to visit again in August and would definately stay with Cliff and Jenny.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Guest House

Address: 11 Castle Drive, Falmouth TR114NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Views 1930s house short walk to town, the seafront, Castle and beach just round the corner. 2 mins walk from Falmouth Docks station 4 star Visit Britain En- suite rooms off road parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Palms Guest House Falmouth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.