We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“haj” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Madeira Hotel to your Saves list
Madeira Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Two Cliff Road, Falmouth TR11 4NY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Hebburn, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“haj”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

we stayed at this hotel for a week on a coach trip with alfa. the hotel down stairs is lovely, the staff are all very nice and helpful, could not have asked for better food every meal was good.Now for the bedroom this was a very small attic type room with no natural light,there was no wardrobe just a cupboard in the wall for your clothes,and The bathroom was a glorified cupboard with a first class shower. The bedrooms let this lovely hotel down they should be in the brochure as small and quirky then the choice is yours. (This room is 41) We still had a lovely holiday

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    36
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
37
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week on a coach trip with Alfa. The hotel is in a lovely position right on the sea front with lovely views. We had a sea view room on the ground floor. It was quite spacious and very clean on arrival. The big problem was that the weather was very hot and room was unbearably hot at night. We couldn't have the windows open as there were no fan light windows and being on the ground floor did not feel secure with the large windows open. We did ask for a fan, but they didn't have any!
We have stayed at Leisureplex hotels twice before, but only for 3 nights each. We knew that the menus were pretty basic, but had enjoyed the food at the other two hotels. Not so good here. The fish was always dry and over cooked and as I could not have the sauces it was virtually inedible. We did not go with high expectations as it was a cheap holiday, but basic food can be very nice if cooked properly. Not so this time. I know that other reviews say that the food is very good, and the menu is fine for what we paid, BUT the cooking was pretty awful.
The bar ran out of beer completely during the week, but they were not allowed to order in between the regular Wednesday deliveries! Come on Leisureplex can you not see that the more you sell the more profit you will make? Other drinks ran out too. Never heard of a bar that doesn't have spare bottles of spirits before.
On a more positive note the staff are the hotels biggest asset, from the receptionists to the bar staff, to the dining room staff. They all work very hard and were a great team.
We did enjoy our holiday, but would prefer to pay more for a coach trip and get a better standard of hotel. This hotel has huge potential with a bit of money spent on it and a new chef.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely stay at the Madeira, courtesy of Alfa Travel. It was our second journey. Gemma and Olivia were very helpful on reception, and our waitress, Oihane, was worth her weight in gold. We had a lovely room with a sea view, it was clean with twin beds and a double bed. It had a shower which was crucial due to my mobility issues. The evening entertainment consisted of Bingo most nights (if there eas enough interest) or an entertainer. Unfortunately one of the entertainers left a little to be desired as he was off key! We chose a lovely week and were able to visit the neighbouring hotel for a brass band recital.Our main aim was to visit the Cornwall Family History Society and Stithians Village to research my genealogy, it was a fruitful visit to both.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royton oldham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

stayed at the madeira april 27 with alfa.second visit. nothing has changed. great location.decor ok. food very good, varied choice.as for the staff,out of 10 i would give them 12.helpfull,happy and hard working. brian the driver was a laugh a minute.the only complaint was the coach.uncomfortable leg room rubbish.we had seats 3&4.plus no luggage space above front seats,otherwisewe had agreat five days. we also got to know john and marion who were great company

Room Tip: room 24. nice sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have just returned from Falmouth staying at the Madeira Hotel,the staff were faultless especially the waiting staff,our waitress was Kate and nothing was too much trouble for her, they all made you feel a bit special.The room we had was a sea view which was adequate for us,very clean and comfortable although the bathroom was a bit on the small size.Entertainment was excellent but we felt sorry for the entertainers as there was only a few people in the audience,but we think this was down to having bingo in the lounge which kept most people a captive audience,and they didn't go into the restaurant after where the shows were put on.Nothing was too much trouble for the reception staff either, any query was answered with a smile.The only down side to this break was the weather which nobody can help even the 5 star staff at the Hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have just come back from a 7 day holiday that was booked through Alfa travel, I would recommend this hotel to anyone, I couldn't fault it. the food was excellent with a choice of 3 alternatives for dinner including a vegetarian dish, also there was a chefs special everyday, it was always well presented and cooked perfectly, the waiters were very polite and also very efficient. The hotel overlooks the sea with lovely views. The bedroom was very clean and tidy with a very modern shower unit..Although I am not much into entertainment all the friends I met on this holiday praised all the artists.. It is very close to all public transport including bus and rail, so it is very easy to see Cornwall without having the hasstle of driving everywhere, and also trying to park and pay parking fees, I went to Plymouth for a day and it cost me £4 return to go to Truro on the train plus £9-50 return from Truro to Plymouth, I am sure that fuel alone would have cost more, I would also recommend Alfa travel for there pleasant and efficient service throughout this holiday...I am one very satisfied customer and my next holiday with this company is already being planned,..Well done leisureplex hotels and Alfa travel...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very nice hotel well situated, overlooking the bay, staff helpful, food & decor good.

Would say this hotel delivers good value for money.bus stop for the town center& bus depot just 3
minutes walk,there is also a railway link from Falmouth to Truro which gives access to most of the West Country.

Room Tip: Room 11 gives a good view, but for a full view of the bay would recommend paying supplement .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Hotel

Address: Two Cliff Road, Falmouth TR11 4NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Falmouth
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Madeira Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madeira Hotel - Falmouth [3 Alpha & AA 2 Star]Beautifully situated on the seafront with attractive gardens, the Madeira commands splendid views to Pendennis Castle and across Falmouth Bay. 50 bedrooms with individual heating and private shower and WC (a few also have bath). All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, TV with radio channels. Oak panelled cocktail bar and pleasant sun lounges with large picture windows facing the sea - delightful places to while away an afternoon. Restaurant with large dance floor and entertainment most evenings. Lift to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Madeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.