We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay In Falmouth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyonesse Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lyonesse Guest House to your Saves list
Lyonesse Guest House
17 Western Terrace, Falmouth TR11 4QN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 78 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Place to Stay In Falmouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Mark & Erica run a very, homely, friendly accommodating and clean B&B which is well positioned for the town, beaches and transport links road/rail/bus. We have stayed there many times and always had a great time. Simple dietary needs such as rice milk are catered for and breakfasts are always excellent. Parking is not a problem as there is plenty of on street parking around Lyonesse.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
18
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have been visiting Falmouth regularly over the last couple of years, since our daughter is at the local university, and stayed in a number of guest houses, but following our first stay in the Lyonesse it will definitely be our first choice on our next visit. Mark and Erica made us very welcome, with some nice little touches. The rooms were a good size and very clean. The table in the room was also useful. The breakfast was excellent with timings being flexible to suit our needs. Excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Recommended by friends and met my expectations. Very hospitable hosts, could not be more obliging or helpful, very comfortable, home from home, with the added touches of edible treats left in the room. Well located, quiet and close to the outskirts and country/beach, yet also close to the town centre, a pleasant walk down hill.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked the Lyonesse at short notice for the May bank holiday. Mark called us a few days before to make sure everything was OK and to confirm our arrival time. This level of attention continued throughout our stay. We were made to feel very welcome and we really appreciated the flexibility of everything including whatever we wanted for breakfast served when we wanted. Mark provided plenty of local information and tips and advice for trips out. We didn't meet Erica but we definitely enjoyed her jam! Mark was friendly and helpful throughout. The guesthouse has a great location and we will definitely stay there again when we next visit Falmouth. Thanks for a very enjoyable weekend Mark.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I am not usually motivated to write a review of a B&B, but in this case I couldn't wait to get to the computer! The Lyonesse is without doubt the best guesthouse I've stayed in in the UK and the key to that is in the word "guesthouse". Usually, in a typical B&B, you sleep in a compfortable bed and get a nice breakfast, but it essentially feels like a small hotel; you don't feel like you're a guest in somebody's house. But at the Lyonesse it couldn't feel more different. The owners, Mark and Erica, invite you into their homes as guests. You can watch TV in their living room, borrow their DVDs and books and have a chat with the owners. They give you OS maps if you need them and give you whatever kind of breakfast you ask for.

Many words come to mind when I think of the Lyonesse. The first is flexibility; there are none of the arbitary and inconvenient timings you usually associate with a B&B. You can check-in and check-out at the time which is most convenient for you. You can have breakfast at the time of your chosing. Even better, you can choose to have breakfast in your room on the breakfast table provided or eat downstairs in the living room. The second word is trust. Mark and Erica trust you to return books, DVDs and give the final payment without giving any sense that they are anxious that you will wander off with their property. The third word is quirkiness. The room is fantastically decorated and makes you really feel like you living at home in a pretty studio flat. Furthermore the breakfast is served each day with different unique touches; the tablecloth and napkins change style as do the cafetiere and jam bowls. The breakfast is even served and presented differently.

I would heartily recommend to anyone that they stay at the Lyonesse. Let's get this guesthouse to number 1 in the UK, never mind Falmouth!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Many Thanks to Mark and Erica for such a delightful stay at the Lyonesse Guest House. A very comfortable stay with beautiful views. The food was delicious and it was very easy to find. Such a beautiful part of the world and I would definitely recommend Lyonesse.
Many Thanks, for making the whole experience amazing.
Rosanna

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Many thanks to Marc and Erika for their warm welcome in their nice house. Great atmosphere, wonderful breakfast, clean and comfy room with wonderfully comfortable bed! I loved Erika´s cakes and felt very shephered by the whole family as I worked on my studies all the time. Beaches and the town center are quiet in a good distance to walk what was nice for little breaks. I can completely recommend this little guesthouse!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lyonesse Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyonesse Guest House

Address: 17 Western Terrace, Falmouth TR11 4QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lyonesse Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyonesse Guest House Falmouth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyonesse Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.