We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Roseland Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Roseland Inn
| Philleigh, England
01872-580254
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 132 nightlife in Cornwall
Type: Bar/ Clubs
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Dating from the 16th century, this is the quintessential English pub, full of charm and historic character, which offers roaring log fires in the winter and a scenic garden in the summer.
Bath, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had not been to the Roseland Inn for a few years. It used to very good, so that is why we visited it again last week. There were three of us in our party. My venison steak was overcooked, and my wife's pork dish was very undercooked. When she cut into the meat it ran with blood. She was so concerned by its appearance that she sent it back and asked for venison instead. She wanted to be sure that she didn't get another undercooked dish. In the meantime the third member of our party received his dish which was liver and bacon. As soon as he cut into the liver you could see that it was also very undercooked. The meat was crimson. That was sent back to the kitchen and was returned overcooked and dried up. My wife's replacement venison eventually arrived and, guess what, it was very bloody and undercooked. It was sent back, and eventually returned overcooked.
The pub seemed to be staffed by young inexperienced people with no proper manager to be seen anywhere. The prices are high and the food is dreadful. We will not be returning.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    1
    1
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had driven passed on a few occasions and, yes, it looks very olde worlde and inviting. Inside is attractive but cramped. We hadn't got a reservation and were put on an extremely small table next to the bar which wasn't convivial for eating or just normal conversation.
The menu isn't great and we chose from the specials board. We both ordered 'duo of fish'. We assumed it was going to be two different types of fish - we were wrong but can see this was down to interpretation. However, the duo was two pieces of mackerel. It was served on a bed of crushed potato and spicy sausage which was fine - but mackerel! It's the cheapest fish and not deserving to be served with a price tag of £11+. We felt cheated that the menu was not accurate - 'duo' was interesting and we took a gamble but if 'mackerel' had been stated we would have chosen something else. Not a happy visit and will not make the effort to go again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“I would drive by as well”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This Inn looks so quintessentially English that your heart soars when you see it - thats the last time is soars I assure you. The staff were unhelpful and precoccupied. The seating inside was uncomfortable - perched up on a window seat that was as hard as a slab of concrete and my lunch was miles below me on a wonky table. The food on paper looked good - on the plate it was dull, lack lustre and showed no finesse or care. It looked like it had been prepared before I even arrived to Cornwall and we couldnt wait to leave. I dispair that this is the face of tourism - you pay out £45 for three lunches (main meal only couldnt bare more) and they are plonked in front of you like beans on toast at a transport cafe. Avoid this as it pretends to be something it very much isnt.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“unfriendly lot”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Not worth the time spent getting there, ferry crossing in all, grumpy staff, bad beer going off, very unwelcoming place, save your time and money, drive past it!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A proper county Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We had been advised to visit for an evening meal and when we walked in you could see the age and character of the Inn. The bar serves at two different levels (difficult to describe but you will see what I mean when you visit) and the tables are cosy.
The menu is small and simple but the food on the two nights we visited was lovely and very good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roseland Inn also viewed

 

Been to Roseland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roseland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Roseland Inn to your Saves list