We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackhouse Grill - Chester

The Blackhouse Grill - Chester
Newgate House | Newgate Street, Chester CH1 1DE, England
+44 (0)870 401 2137
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 411 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: $16 - $112
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Brilliant dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

As a bank holiday treat, me and my boyfriend decided to give this a try. As it was bank holiday weekend we didn't think a table would be available anywhere. But we got here and they fitted us in straight away. Everything was great from wine to mains. We will be coming back soon. Worth every penny

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    141
    69
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Atmosphere....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My fiancé took me here for my birthday and we loved this restaurant for it's ambient, hustle bustle feel. The food was excellent, the staff were attentive and the back ground music of contemporary piano were all the things that made this restaurant perfect.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“glad we ate here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Lovely restaurant, really nice inside. Service was good. Drinks were over priced and the food was slightly over priced, my partner asked for the duck but then asked what it was served with and it was basically nothing and it was nearly £15 but I had fillet steak fajitas and it was really tasty and would recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Not much more to say than amazing.... the service the atmosphere and the food were all great...we will return asap

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Extremely over priced steak. Selected the 'posh surf and turf' at over £17 only to be told no veg was included. Over £3 for mushrooms, £3 for peas etc. When the steak arrived it had 4 prawns 4 pieces of crayfish and 3 scallops it was all very small and only covered about 1/5 of the plate. Good service (its only saving grace) but not worth the money.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blackhouse Grill - Chester also viewed

 

Been to The Blackhouse Grill - Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackhouse Grill - Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.