We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“xmas meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackhouse Grill - Chester

The Blackhouse Grill - Chester
Newgate House | Newgate Street, Chester CH1 1DE, England
+44 (0)870 401 2137
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 411 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: $16 - $112
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“xmas meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

what can i say about this place, well we went here for our xmas meal, im a bit of a fuddy where my meat is cooked, and they were telling my to have this kobi burger rare, no sorry will not do this, i believe in meat being cooked., but found it be to be boring withy no taste, thats my opinion about the kobi, but everything else was good.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    139
    67
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

If you are a keen steak lover, this is the place for you. It's a little pricey but worth every penny! Homemade chips were literally too nice, couldn't stop eating them. The service was also very personal and excellent.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Chateaubriand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Table was booked online and worth doing as if your a member you benefit from 20% off your food bill.

All the starters the table had were nice and more than acceptable but lets be honest your hear for the steak!
We all decided on chateaubriand and it was cooked as requested a perfect medium, as pink as you can get without any blood.
Bearnaise sauce, the chips and green beans were all lovely accompaniments but the melt in the mouth chateaubriand is the everlasting impression - steaks at regular pubs/restaurants will just never be the same again....

Service was exceptionally friendly and prompt, it's a very professional outfit from start to finish and nice to see the same staff have worked there since our last visit, surely a sign that it's a nice place to work

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Steaks Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Visited on my birthday - they made a real fuss - fantastic seaks, excellent service - will definately visit again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“business dinner very nice and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Got a wild mushroom tart and was pretty ok and tasteful, then decided for a steak (even if I am very picky on steak coming from Florence where good steak is a religion....) and it was nice, chips served in a particular way, wine was argentinian...malbec (called Argento) not so great while shyraz+malbec ok. Service extremely efficient, nice and friendly, barman young and willing to impress. Atmospehre is familiar, noisy and joyful, a place where to go if in Chester (very close to Roman amphitheatre)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blackhouse Grill - Chester also viewed

 

Been to The Blackhouse Grill - Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackhouse Grill - Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.