We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sticky Walnut

Sticky Walnut
11 Charles Street | Hoole, Chester CH2 3AZ, England
01244 400400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 411 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: $0 - $111
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great as expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I t looks like the last few review ahead of minne just score poor at the sticky wallnut, people often just look at the reviews in order to writte one, and they score strongly influenced on that.
This is one of the best restaurants in the Chester area, yes no doubt about.
I was looking forward to this ocassion and try that sticky wallnut, thats what i had for starter.delicious.
The lamb tagliattele were also excellent, maybe a bit over cook... not in the italian aldente cook, but I known that in Britain normally they expect the pasta more cook than the italian standar, just a tinny detail.
the experience was lovely although i went for lunch on a week day it was quitte busy.
It was a good experience will come back again.
thanks for reading this lines.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    111
    44
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“So very nearly excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Lovely setting inside - only small down stairs but not too cosy.
Open kitchen on a very warm night we were glad we were near the door.Bottled water with a hint of fresh mint - nice touch.
Mrs Tornado struggled to find something that jumped out for main but settled on salmon and was pleased she did.
I had Steak Tartare - and very good it was too - then Quail Wellington - fantastic.
Service was on the money and could not pick a hole in the entire meal - very good indeed - now here comes the "but"!
The loo's are very tiny - this place is short on space - and no real hardship there,the hand sink however is communal.
The gents was not as clean as I would have liked - dirty extractor - and just a bit grubby - ladies the same says Mrs T - but the communal hand towel is unforgivable ! On a very warm night - just one bathroom towel hanging for everyone in the restaurant to use - I didn't know which little part of it to go for that may have been untouched.
I'm not OCD - but found this nasty.
"The Blue Bicycle " in York used to have individual flannels and a laundry basket - new management changed it to paper towels - just not the same - it's the small touches.
Liquid soaps nearly empty too .
SW - I love your place - and your food - get rid of that towel !
Not going to mark it down for that though , and can't wait to go back - a lovely evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very good, don't understand the variable reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were a bit concerned with the variable reviews, but food and service was excellent. A small place which does mean some tables are a bit awkward. We had salmon and crispy egg and lamb tongue for starters. Very tasty combinations. Followed by Quail wellington and lamb neck. I didn't like the quail legs and my beans weren't tailed. We were confused by the truffle and parmesan chips, didn't realise they were potato chips so didn't order. We didn't need them so a fortunate mistake. The two girls who served us were very good and the food was served timely and hot. We had a bottle of Lamadoro which we had when in Puglia great find and good memories of a holiday.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I was so looking forward to this restaurant after all the great reviews and perhaps that contributed to raising my expectations which were ultimately dashed. Three stars is a bit harsh but with no 3.5 to award.......
In summary i was expecting a bit more "fine dining" and a bit less 'bistro". Its basically a converted terrace house with a limited menu and spartan surroundings.
The food was nice without being wow factor, the services was good without being great and the general ambience lacked that touch of sophistication. There nothing really to complain about and I wouldn't want people not to go as you make your own mind up about a place but what I will say is that you only pay a small amount more to go to Simon Radley but the difference is massive!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Evening nothing sticky about it !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

As a party of 4 we visited the sticky walnut on a Friday Night, it was busy but they had managed to fit us in for a later sitting when we booked last minute. They advised we could go earlier actually on the evening, which was nice. As a vegetarian there was only one option which is not a problem if it is imaginative dish, it was to start Oven roast beets, sticky walnuts, spicy pumpkin seeds, goats cheese - Main Course Blue arancini, poached pears, creamed spinach and walnuts, both absolutely gorgeous... The meat eaters thoroughly enjoyed their meals too, a mixture of pate, ox tongue, lamb & pork belly. All of the meals were beautifully presented & served promptly. We were seated upstairs, which is not a very big area but we were all very comfortably seated & with a wonderful atmosphere, The Staff were very helpful & efficient.
The bill was a little more than we would usually pay but it is so difficult to find such quality. approx. £175.00 for 4 people 3 courses two bottles of wine, 2 beers & 3 spirits a bargain really...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sticky Walnut also viewed

 

Been to Sticky Walnut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sticky Walnut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.