We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Italia Chester

Bella Italia Chester
29 Eastgate Street, Chester CH1 1LG, England
01244 325420
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #154 of 390 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: Italian, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated in the heart of Chester city centre, Bella Italia is a popular dining destination for those looking for well priced good quality Italian food. This well loved Chester restaurant is based in a pretty period building and offers a warm and inviting ambience. The menu ranges from authentic Italian pizzas to tasty pastas, meat and fish dishes. Indulge in a plate of mixed antipasto before diving into a bowl of chicken and spinach fusilli in a creamy gorgonzola sauce or a chargrilled salmon fillet served with green beans, roasted new potatoes and a tomato and red onion salsa. Ideal for friends, family and work colleagues, there really is something for everyone at Bella Italia Chester.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Visited here last night 16.2.13 Lovely little place and atmosphere to be in, great service and welcoming. Very good dishes served. Would recommend to others.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    89
    53
    46
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bella Italia - so very bella”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

What a very pretty little Italian restaurant - which looked even more cosy and inviting in the snow! The food was delicious and the wine I chose happened to be one of the nicest I had ever sampled. The only down-side to our evening was the icy blast every time the door was opened - that and the fact that unlike everyone else, we weren't unfortunately dressed for dinner:-( All in all a lovely little restaurant with lovely food and very helpful staff:-)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“gt meeting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

food gt love italian food met my two nieces from manchester food good not to expensive gt menu nice staff good service

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle under lyme
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Tasty food with mostly adequate service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Visited with family member on 30 Jan for lunch. Nothing on lunch menu which would have worked out better deal for two courses but not major problem.

The majority of dishes on menu are 'put together' by kitchen rather than actually cooking all ingredients. The sauces are bought in as a waitress did state this while we were choosing.

I had wholewheat rigatoni with roasted tomato sauce, aubergines. Very tasty and have had this dish before. If you are veggie or vegan i recommend this. It is so common to have tasteless dishes with no punch but this is really nice dish and worth the money. Had bruschetta to start which was ok, not too great -- no oil in the mixture and just plain chopped tomatoes which could have looked lot better. We added balsamic and olive oil on the dish.
Other member of party had cannelonni which was tasty and all was eaten. No alcohol was bought but soft drinks were about £3 per glass but was a bit flat as out of bottles.

Service ok, bit over friendly at times as we had never met the waitresses before! Overall good though and it did seem very popular.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of the worst meals”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I went to Bella Italia with my teenage son just before xmas. I ordered a pasta dish with peppers and chicken whilst my son had the spaghetti carbonara. My dish was dry, tasteless, unseasoned and very bland indeed, hence after about 4 mouth fulls I did not finish it. My son who loves carbonara, only managed to eat half of the meal, as it was watery and bland. I appreciate that they were busy, but when paying £30+ for a meal, it do not think its acceptable. The waitress never even asked us if we enjoyed our meals, which I believe is an indication that all was not good that day. Doubtful I will return.. In addition I also think that they need to review the entrance door as it is freezing sitting there when it is opening and closing and the winter weather comes in..

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Italia Chester also viewed

 

Been to Bella Italia Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Italia Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.