We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanky Panky Pancakes

Hanky Panky Pancakes
20 Commonhall Street, Chester CH1 2BJ, England
+44 1244 319225
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 454 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: Creperie, Coffee Shop, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Hanky Panky Pancakes is a creperie with a British twist. We have a lovely range of local cheeses, ice creams, teas and beers to go with your pancake. Naughty but nice!
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I took my wife here for breakfast while visiting Chester and we loved it, the pancakes are very nice and the staff are very nice to.
I asked them change things for me from the menu because I could not decide what to have and they said not a problem and smiled.
This place is a must in my opinion the staff and pancakes are lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, Owner at Hanky Panky Pancakes, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you very much for writing a review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your breakfast, always happy to adapt our pancakes to suit personal tastes. Hopefully you will come to visit us again next time you visit Chester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    28
    9
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ripon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Amazing pancakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Cannot reccomend this enough.
We had an a amazing breakfast here we got a taxi especially to try it out and it was definetly worth the trip.

Amazing !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, Owner at Hanky Panky Pancakes, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
We are really pleased you enjoyed your HP visit. Thank you for reviewing us here on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Went there in the afternoon with my girlfriend. The restaurant/café was half full. 3 waitress and we waited about 10 minutes to order drinks, then waitress came and said sorry we only have one coke left... Not an issue but then when she finally brought the drinks the coke was not a coke but a cola... Never mind that will do. Then ordered savoury pancakes which to be honest were not great but we did not want to make our mind just on this so decided we would then get some sweet ones but nobody ever came to take our order so eventually we just got up, paid at the till and left...
However the staff were friendly and the place is cute. Even though it is not really a place to go for lunch it could be a good one to get desert so we will give it another go and come for some sweet pancakes soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, Owner at Hanky Panky Pancakes, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review HP. We love reading all the wonderful reviews but we also appreciate the ones which highlight weak areas, these can help us develop better service.

Our idea for a little independent pancake cafe came to be because we love pancakes, ice cream (and beer). Our staff members are mostly sixth formers and friends of our sons. They are all lovely and working exceptionally hard but have no catering experience, meaning that unfortunately situations such as your wait do occur.

We have been taken slightly by surprise at the popularity of HP happening as quickly as it has, unfortunately this is clearly showing in the service. We have now managed to find some new staff who have worked in catering before and hope we can improve our service whilst retaining the fun and mayhem which gives HP its character. We are really sorry you had a disappointing visit to HP but thank you for pointing out how it felt from a customer's point of view. We hope you give us another chance in the future, the sweet pancakes are very tasty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely For Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

One of the many brilliant things about this restaurant is that it opens at 8 in the morning so you can pop in for breakfast before work! And the breakfast is simply lovely !

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, Owner at Hanky Panky Pancakes, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. The breakfasts are becoming quite popular as people discover we are open in the morning. Oh those fluffy pancakes with honey and banana or maple syrup and bacon , a wonderful start to the day :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Locate and visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

I was going to be the first person to give a score of less than four, just so everyone would read the one report... But that would have been wrong! There are some teething problems which the staff explained that they were working on, I.e waiting times, but 15 minutes for food to arrive is acceptable and people were having to be turned away as it is so popular. But the food was amazing and if I lived near chester I would probably visit again. I went for the sweet coffee option but that was too strong for my pallet, but it was very tasty. Prices are good, and this should be a successful venture. Hopefully see you guys next time... Friendliest staff I've met. Only problem is that it took to long to find! If you're going, make sure you know the way.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, Owner at Hanky Panky Pancakes, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you so much for taking some time to review HP here on Tripadvisor. We are working hard to bring down waiting times when busy. Pancakes are a wonderfully quick snack but sometimes sheer weight of numbers lead to a build up in the kitchen. The Tiramisu-ish is a popular choice but as you say full on flavour wise. We are very pleased you managed to find us, and hope you come back again when you visit Chester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanky Panky Pancakes also viewed

 

Been to Hanky Panky Pancakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanky Panky Pancakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.