We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Shack

The Shack
49-51 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
01244 340300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 411 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: $6 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Food and service outstanding, good value for money, great location. Only marked down because of atmosphere, giant TV screen showing old films no sound, not needed get rid!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    8
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Really nice Tapa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We have had lunch here two Sundays on the run for a quick bite. We had the selection of tapas and really enjoyed them. Nice staff and pleasant front bar.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice food & good staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Went for food with 15 other people before a night out. They left no one waiting and were constantly there if we needed anything. Good food too!
Would definitely go again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Food was yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We were 2 couples and it was lovely to order lots of food to share. The food was very tasty and I would highly recommend it. Very good value for money and reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb service & great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We visited the Shack for my wife's 40th birthday after the races on Saturday, the person who took the booking was very helpful & everybody in our party enjoyed their meals & the restaurant/bar ambience, would not hesitate to go back again the next time were in Chester or to recommend to others, keep up the good work

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shack also viewed

 

Been to The Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.