We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in a nice location - good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grosvenor Place Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grosvenor Place Guest House to your Saves list
Grosvenor Place Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   2 Grosvenor Place, Chester CH1 2DE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice stay in a nice location - good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here one night in Chester and was very pleased. Nice location close to the city centre and the racecourse. Very good breakfast made to order the next morning. The host was wonderful and friendly. I thought this was very good value for money compared to similar places in the area.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    35
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
61
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Grosvenor place is in an ideal spot for shopping, sight seeing, night out. Just bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.
The room, room 2, was large, clean, comfy bed, nice big wardrobe. As previously mentioned, the bathroom needs a makeover but that's no big deal, though if I might offer some constructive criticism ....I think no toiletries or just one small shower gel would give a better impression than a refilled radox bottle .... Also the kettle is past its best (Sorry)
The stained glass windows in the room are gorgeous, and the tv and free wifi excellent.
Iain was very helpful with advice about free parking and we were impressed with his new voucher scheme - on our first morning we took the option of an £8 voucher for his panini press cafe around the corner and really enjoyed the option of a lie in then fresh coffee, bacon and cheese panini, at a time that suited us.
However breakfast at the b&b on Sunday was faultless, excellent quality sausage and bacon, as much toast and coffee as we could manage, cereal and juice as well. A 5 star brekky. And very accommodating, portions were gone to me, but I've no doubt if you said what you wanted, 2 eggs for example, you could have it. Tomatoes and mushrooms were fresh too, fantastic.
We enjoyed drinks in the pub across the cobbles, the saddle, also the kings head, very nice. And good food at la Fattoria and the Indian on lower bridge Street.
I'd definitely recommend this b&b, on location and breakfast alone it's good value. And Chester is a fab city to visit
Thankyou Iain and colleagues x

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor-Place-Mgmt, Owner at Grosvenor Place Guest House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased you had a good stay and I accept your comments fully. I'm redecorating throughout in January so I will take the opportunity to renew the kettles in all the rooms then.

Maybe it would be better to provide the disposable mini bottles of shower gel as you suggest.

I hope when you come back and stay again I will have completed some changes to room 2 which I think will make it my favourite room.

I hope you will be presently surprised

Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms and great breakfast, first time we have been offered smoke salmon as an alternative to your regular cooked breakfast, made our weekend stay in Chester really enjoyable, would happily stay again on a short break

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor-Place-Mgmt, Owner at Grosvenor Place Guest House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I am so happy that you had a pleasant stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Blanca
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Grosvenor Place Guest House for two nights. We found it to be an idea place to explore the city from. The beds were extremely comfortable and there was everything you needed in the room including a jar of biscuit's that we put a sizeable dent into. We arrived outside of the check-in times and so called the phone number to see if we could drop off our bags which was no trouble and the owner was there within 2 mins.
As for all the people that have left reviews complaining about the rooms/ plastic chairs/ scuffs to the paint (Which I didn't even notice!) each to their own but I can only presume that they paid significantly more than I did
An excellent place for an excellent price we would definitely stay here if we were to visit Chester again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor-Place-Mgmt, Owner at Grosvenor Place Guest House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I know it takes time to put together a review so thank you for going to the trouble of rating us. I am going to redecorate throughout in the first 2 weeks of January so the few scuff marks in the stairwell caused by guests' cases will be gone. I am so happy you had a good stay and feel it was value for money.

I hope we see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

This is a wonderful B and B in the centre of Chester. We arrived early but were able to leave our suitcases to go off and return later. On our return we were greeted by the owner and friendly staff who made us feel very welcome. We were suggested a lovely Italian restaurant to eat at during our stay. The twin room on the top floor was clean and comfortable. Loved the stained glass window. Although the bathroom was small there was plenty of hot water and an electric shower. Very comfy beds with crisp linen. Did not find this room noisy at night. Only woken by the glass recycling one morning from the opposite pub.
Thoroughly enjoyed the full English breakfast during the 3 day stay. Staff always courteous and nothing was too much trouble. Extra tea, coffee or toast was always on offer. Enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere at breakfast and chatting to other guests.
I loved the fact that within a couple of minutes walk from the B and B there were lovely coffee and tea rooms, excellent restaurants, fantastic shops and a weath of history around the centre. Enjoyed the visit to the cathedral and walking around the city walls.
I would highly recommend Grosvenor Place and would stay there again if returning to Chester. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor-Place-Mgmt, Owner at Grosvenor Place Guest House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay in Chester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

We stayed here on our wedding anniversary on our way home from a sad occasion. Our hosts were incredibly kind and helpful, making good suggestions for eateries and managing our parking permits so we didn't have to worry about getting fined. I mentioned in passing that it was our anniversary and behold, next morning there was a box of chocolates for me at breakfast! I was very touched. The room was comfortable and breakfast was tasty. Restaurants were within easy walking distance and altogether it was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor-Place-Mgmt, Owner at Grosvenor Place Guest House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review the Guest House. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

This is an amazing b&b right in the heart of Chester with really helpful owners. Its not a five star hotel but a friendly b&b with a nice atmosphere and there were some lovely people staying there. The wonderful shops are less than a minute away as is Café Nero (I love Café Nero). I have just stayed for three nights and although there is no off street parking, this was not an issue. I was given two hour parking permits which allowed me to park outside the b&b for this period. After 4pm the Crown Court Car Park is available and completely free and this is only a minute away. You have to move your car by 7.45 am and then another two hour parking permit enables parking just outside the b&b. I needed my car during the day so all this was just perfect. The single room is very much on the small side but I didn't help matters by bringing far too many clothes (usual story!) so I found it hard to keep the room tidy. For the final night I was moved to a double room at the single rate and this was just brilliant. The beds are very comfortable, the heating was on and there was lots of hot water. Despite the proximity to the city centre there is really very little traffic noise and I am convinced that the pub opposite is a ghost pub because I heard nothing at all from it and saw no customers go in or out! A great place if you want to explore Chester and I would recommend it wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: If you book the single room be prepared for the fact that its small and don't take too many clot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor-Place-Mgmt, Owner at Grosvenor Place Guest House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you mentioned the size of the single as it is small, although it has one of my favourite bathrooms! We normally offer single occupancy of a double for £3-5 more than the single room rate, especially mid week, so I would always potential guests to take this option if they like more room or have many clothes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grosvenor Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Place Guest House

Address: 2 Grosvenor Place, Chester CH1 2DE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Place Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor Place is a Georgian town house set within the City Walls right in the heart of Chester.Our location could not be any better as we are the closest B&B to the city centre with no more than a 5 minute walk to all of the key attractions in Chester including the race course!The guest house has recently been lovingly restored to combine Georgian charm with all the modern comforts. With our luxury beds, deep bounce back pillows and duvets and crisp satin stripe bedding – we aim to deliver on affordable luxury. We source Cheshire local products and services wherever possible and this extends to our delicious full English breakfasts! Which include fabulous sausages and dry cured bacon from Cheshire bred pigs, local free range eggs, Cheshire tomatoes and mushrooms accompanied by beans to finish off your full English breakfast served with tea or fresh coffee served in a cafetiere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grosvenor Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Place Guest House Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grosvenor Place Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.