We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Saddle Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Saddle Inn to your Saves list
The Saddle Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 Grosvenor Street, Chester, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 78 Chester B&B and Inns
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at the Saddle midweek and were impressed. We were greeted warmly by the friendly managers and shown to our room which was nicely decorated clean with fresh linen toiletries and tea/ coffee facilities. After checking in we came down to the bar for a drink and sampled some of the food which was well cooked and fresh. The bar area again is well presented and were made to feel welcome. Lovely furniture and decor and a covered outside terrace. What you need from a good B&B is a comfortable bed and a good breakfast. I'm pleased to say we got both and more from the Saddle Inn and would definitely recommend and return.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your review and positive feedback. We are happy you had a great stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    19
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tenerife
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived at 3pm to book in and were shown to our room number 7. The room was at the top of the Inn some 28 stairs up. To say the room was a little small for two of us is an understatement. The double bed filled the room and you had to be careful not to hit your head on the eaves. The small toilet/shower was clean but the door stuck on the wash basin when you opened the door. The toiletries and tea/coffee supplies were good and the room was clean and smelt fresh. All the rooms from 5 to 9 are on the top floor so be careful when you book. Value for money was excellent and we would stop here again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review your feedback is important to us. We are very happy you thought our services represented great value for money and that you would return again. Your room is actually classified as a single room on all the booking websites although it has a queen size bed and therefore can accommodate 2 people. The price reflects this and is cheaper than our standard double rooms. If you stay with us again and require a larger room then be advised to book a double rather than a single. We hope to see you again in the future from all The team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Chester is a great place for a short break. The Saddle Inn is a very nice place to stay. There is a caveat however it does not serve evening meals Monday to Thursday, this might change later in the season, but it is something to be aware of.There is however plenty of places to eat locally. Chester itself is a touch of history, all beautiful old preserved buildings. A real treat if you want to see real mediaeval England.

Room Tip: I was in room number 1 and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your feedback we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. If guests require an evening meal Sunday night through to Thursday night our sister pub just 5 minutes walk away serves food til 9pm. We offer a full service Friday and Saturday night and hotel guests receive a 15% discount on their bill for using our facilities. Details of our sister pub are highlighted in the guest pack in every bedroom.
We hope to welcome you again at the Saddle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night a couple of weeks ago, the location is great, the bed was comfy and the barman very helpful and friendly. I'm afraid I won't be returning though as the room was very dark and dingy, the furniture was a bit mismatch and shabby, the bathroom wasn't very clean and the hot tap on the bath wouldn't turn off so made a dripping noise all night. The free wifi that was advertised is actually just a public wifi service via The Cloud and it didn't work in the room anyway so I just had to use 3G. The room was also quite cold. I could have stayed at a travelodge for just £4 more or the new Roomzzz apartment hotel for just £5 more (with parking) and will probably do so next time.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. The Saddle Inn is a character property with old historic features, many people that stay with us like the attic rooms with character beams and furniture. Obviously if you are looking for a bland square room then travelodge or similar is best for you. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and all our reviews and feedback gives us the thumbs up on that. Every room is checked before a guest goes into it to ensure the housekeeper has fulfilled her role. We do not have wifi in the guest bedrooms we only offer a service in the bar and dining areas on the ground floor. For the prices we charge we believe we offer great value for money and again we can only go by the majority of our reviews which confirm that.
We always strive to give our guests a good experience and a welcome stay offering great customer service and we are proud to have been awarded a laterooms award exactly for that.
Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Conveniently located, clean room and bathroom, comfortable bed. Would be nice if breakfast was also provided within the booking package but there is a cafe/bar on the ground floor. In general a satisfied customer.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. When you book online there is the facility to add breakfast as an option. Even if you don't book online you can opt to have breakfast with us and pay on the day. We offer a full breakfast menu to all of our guests using quality ingredients and everything is cooked to order to ensure 100% freshness. Breakfast menus are in the guest pack in every bedroom
We hope we can welcome you again to the Saddle Inn soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location close to the town centre. The pub bars are nicely decorated and staff very accommodating. The rooms aren't the most plush we have stayed in but comfortable and clean with the bed made up daily. Although we didn't eat there we know breakfast is served till 10am, and there are midday meals but no evening meals available. No parking nearby so we used the NCP car park approx. 5 mins walk away from the hotel in the town centre. Ask at the bar for a concession ticket for the NCP car park to give you a reduction on the price. It cost us £10 for 24hours. Parking at the side of the hotel is limited to 10 mins only as its in a resident permit zone but handy for dropping off/picking up suitcases.Towels are provided along with the usual tea/coffee facilities and toiletries in the ensuite (message to the owner - just wondering why your cleaner removed our soap and left us without any?!) Free Wi-Fi and good TV reception with plenty of channels. Separate door so you can enter the premises after hours. Would definitely recommend for couples or families and would be happy to stay here should we visit Chester again.

Room Tip: Ask for a parking concession ticket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your positive feedback we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding food options we provide breakfast and lunch service 7 days a week and an evening service on Friday and Saturday. Our sister pub just 5 minutes walk away provides evening meals 7 days a week for any guests wanting to have food. This is all laid out in the guest pack situated in each guest bedroom. Tables for larger parties can also be booked by prior arrangement.
We hope to welcome you back to The Saddle in soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is perfect for short stays! The room was perfectly presented and the staff we very helpful and wanted to make sure our stay was a good one. I would definitely stay there again.
Only downside was there was no car park at the hotel

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased you had a great experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. With regards to car parking we offer a discount for our guests at the nearby NCP car park on Pepper Street just 5 minutes walk away
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Saddle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saddle Inn

Address: 21 Grosvenor Street, Chester, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saddle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saddle Inn is new to Chester. We are located close to the amenities of the city centre and the racecourse and are ideally situated for you to enjoy a fun-filled weekend stay or a relaxing drink or meal with friends and family. The premises has undergone a complete refurbishment offering our customers a stylish and welcoming environment. A newly designed bar area is sure to impress offering a wide range of draught beers, cask ales, spirits, wines and cocktails. The newly appointed dining area offers a range of home cooked food including light bites, pub classics and a taditional Sunday Roast offering. You can also relax in our lounge area and enjoy a coffee or speciality tea or impress your friends with Afternoon Tea ( booking required ). The Saddle Inn, newly established in 2014 is in a fantastic central location that enables our guests to truly immerse themselves in the city's thriving cultural landscape. The Saddle Inn is a large historical building which is located near the Roman amphitheatre. We are situated next to the museum and also within walking distance of the race course and shops. All our rooms come with comfortable en-suite or private facilities including: Tea & coffee making facilities, TV with freeview, ironing facilities available by request, hair-dryer by request, fresh towels, complimentary toiletries and free WiFi internet access in the public areas. We are also available for private dining and private functions please contact us for details ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Saddle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Bells Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saddle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.