We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by minor faults” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Chester Warrington Road

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travelodge Chester Warrington Road
Save
You added Travelodge Chester Warrington Road to your Saves list
Warrington Road | Mickle Trafford, Chester CH2 4EX, England (Formerly Innkeeper's Lodge Chester Northeast)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Chester
Banbury, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Let down by minor faults”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This was our first time staying at this particular Travelodge which is easily found next to the Toby Carvery on the A56 just off junction 12 of the M53. It is located in the up market area of Hoole just outside Chester. There is a large car park though this can become busy at times due to the restaurant next door. The staff were polite and helpful. We were given room 11 which is situated at the back of the building, it was clean & tidy. The room was of a decent size, with high ceilings, it was in good decorative order, clean and tidy. There was a wardrobe and 5 drawers in different units but only 1 chair which meant one person had to sit on the bed. The was a fairly new flat screen television of a reasonable size. The was the usual kettle and facilities for making hot drinks. The ensuite was good and came with a bath & shower though I could not find a switch for the lights around the mirror and assumed the bulbs had burnt out. The room could be described as tired which was not a problem but it was let down by a number of minor faults, which could have been easily fixed with a small amount of effort. The window in the room was wooden framed and the handles to open the them were falling off. One of the opening windows needed realigning because you could view the sky through the gap, which conveniently let in the noise from the restaurant next door when bins were moved around; it also provide an early morning alarm call when delivery lorries arrived. To supplement this the bed made loud creaking noises every time you moved. There is a bus stop just outside with an half hourly service to the centre of Chester. On the other side of the road the return buses go to Warrington & Runcorn.

Room Tip: Avoid room 11 unless you are a sound sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    66
    33
    20
    14
See reviews for
56
64
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

No problems booked early & got great deal, had family room which could have been a bit bigger, room clean tidy but if anything room needs renovating/updating but would recommend. Toby Carvery next was spot on for breakfast/tea and staff were particular helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed for one night this week and I have to say it was one of the nicer travelodges we have stayed in. The room and bathroom were both really nice our only complaint was that even thought the heating wasnt on it was very warm. Given the weather wasnt too good it was very handy that its attached to a Toby Carvery where we had a lovely evening meal and if you are staying in the travelodge you can get a 3 course meal and a drink for £12.50. Excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have stayed at over 50 Travelodges and this is still the best. It was a former Inn Keepers Lodge so has superior decor/ furniture. There is a nice Toby for meals including full English breakfast for £3.99 or £5.79 with unlimited drinks
Friendly staff (Aaron) just ask if you need something. We got extra pillows, sheets, tea,milk and he even brought us a fan.
Nice samsung flat screen tv with all freeview channels.
Very good standard of cleaning and maintenance. Only thing to improve would be exterior windows need replacing/ renovating.
Good bus service outside 2 an hr to Chester £4.75 for unlimited travel off peak ticket. Free carpark.
We only paid £10 so absolute bargain. I suppose if you did pay full cost £60+ you could find faults but that probably goes for anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

attending my mothers funeral . booking under another name [ has my card been compromised] i on arrival at midnight took an hour to be given a room.bed extremely noisy, PILLOW [ for two] uncomfortable. joiners working outside of bedroom at 7.30 am. power cut in am unable to dry hair get a hot drink, dining room out of order during duration. continental breakfast given which resembled a happy meal with stale produce inside. no manager to be found in spite of waiting till 10.30. had to go to another travelodge to get refund. staff very understanding but powerless to help. on making complaint told by letter quote" they have a policy of over booking". daughter had been transferred to another lodge to find same errors, given a bed at 2am

Room Tip: go to premier inn. budget hotel with 5 star treatment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed for 1 night over the Easter holidays as a family of 5 in two rooms. Both rooms were tidy, clean if a little tired. Like another reviewer we found both our ground floor bedroom and bathroom freezing cold, and also didn't have a thermostat to alter the heat (no complaints from my daughters upstairs). My son only explained in the morning that the window couldn't shut properly :?.

The hotel has a Toby Carvery connected, we had a quick snack there in the evening having arrived late, and a decent breakfast. Not bad: but that is the only thing about.

It is an Ideal location for exploring around Chester, and (importantly for us) Chester zoo - but I think I'd tire of the chill & the remoteness after a second night.

Room Tip: obviously, book online in advance for the best rates. We had two rooms for less than the price of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed for 1 night over the Easter holidays as a family of 4 one room.

The room was very clean and tidy.

I personally found both the bedroom and bathroom freezing cold, and there was no thermostat to alter the heat (my husband and kids didn't find it a problem though)

Ideal location for exploring around Chester, just off the motorway junction, but you wouldn't know as it was so quiet.

We ate breakfast at the Toby Carvery adjoining the hotel, which was just what we needed to set us up for a day at the zoo

Close to Cheshire Oaks and Chester Zoo

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Chester Warrington Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Chester Warrington Road

Address: Warrington Road | Mickle Trafford, Chester CH2 4EX, England (Formerly Innkeeper's Lodge Chester Northeast)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chester Warrington Road Hotel Chester
Innkeepers Hotel Chester Northeast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Chester Warrington Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.