We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Chester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Chester to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Chester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Chester
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Lovely hotel and location, just a minutes walk from chester town centre which is great for shops and restaurants. All the hotel staff were excellent, friendly and efficient, especially the reception staff. Hotel car park is fairly small but there is a large multi storey just around the corner that is locked at night and you pay the hotel the same price as their car park.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    341
    104
    30
    21
See reviews for
121
476
19
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend, and we got a complementary upgrade to an executive room which was nice. However there is no way I'd have paid the extra for he upgrade, as you seemed to just get a bathrobe, and a minibar.
Room was nice, good layout, however there is a but...
We stayed on a weekend when it was very windy, and the noise level in the room (as it was high up) was unbelievable! It's made an absolute racket. We didnt think we could complain as we weren't sure if the weather was abnormal or not.
Made use of the pool and sauna etc which is pretty good.
The place from the outside looks like a multi-storey car park, and I think it's a bit pricey. However it's still a good hotel.
Worth considering.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times now when I go to Chester for business and on every occasion I have had an excellent stay.
The rooms are well laid out and the business centre is excellent.
The pool and spa are also an added bonus.
A good location for a walk into the town centre

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

My first tip would be the car park, hard to find so drive past the front entrance (which in reality is at the back), past the 1st car park on your right to the 2nd car park entrance and then the hotel one is up the slip road, then there is a lift down to reception. For £7.50 for hotel residents it is a great thing for a city centre hotel. It then gets better from there ! We went on a Saturday and they kindly let our party of 10 check in early, the reception is spacious and the receptionist are quick and very courteous, couldn't have asked for better, we were offered help with our bags but declined. Room was as you expect from this type of hotel, clean modern and comfortable. Beds and linens were of high quality and more than enough towels were supplied. The usual toiletries were supplied but what I really appreciated was the extras, little sprays for your pillows to help you sleep and the offer of any extra toiletries such as tooth paste, razor etc on call to reception. We all were going to the spa for the afternoon and the housekeeping manager could not have been more pleasant or helpful, giving us all extra towels to take down with robes and slippers. The spa was warm (if not a little too hot) and clean and we took full use of pool / jacuzzi / steam / sauna all was a welcome relax....delightful. We did not use the restaurant facilities so cannot comment. The hotel is well located, although not as close as the Blossoms or the Grosvenor but is is only 2 mins walk from the main street, so as near as damn it and has the added advantage of the carpark and you do not have your peaceful sleep disturbed by loud late night revellers as may happen with the other 2. Check out was quick and smooth and we appreciated the 12 check out and the yet again helpful staff who sorted out the car park ticket which meant we could take a wander into the town for a final browse at the shops. Overall we all had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend this hotel, and I would next time look out for this chain of hotels in other cities based on the excellent staff and cleanliness of the hotel. Many Thanks to the staff for making a difference.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Very central hotel with very nice rooms. You can walk to most places in the town centre. Even had a half price breakfast offer on. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the hotel and thought that it was worth sharing our experience. We had a wonderful overnight stay, we were upgraded on arrival (priority club member) to an executive suite which was very spacious and allowed us to spread ourselves out easily.
The hotel was very busy and we were amuzed to find that we had to share a breakfast table with another couple, mainly because I think that it was presumed we were part of a larger bus group.
Recommend to others, the Crown Plaza always offers a good experience wheather in the UK or Australia.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

thoruoghly enjoyed our recent stay at the Crowne Plaza, staff could do enough for you and the room was clean quiet and very comfortable, lots of freebies to make you feel good too.
would recommend to anyone as ticked all the boxes perfectly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.