We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfectly relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Chester

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Chester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 45 hotels in Chester
Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfectly relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

We booked two rooms at the very last minute for the bank holiday weekend follwing a disasterous attempt to stay at another hotel near Chester (see my other review). From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed and well looked after. All staff were pleasant and helpful, our rooms were spotless and the food was perfectly fine (we only ate in the bar so can't comment on the restaurant although breakfast was good). OK, it is quite expensive to stay in this hotel but we felt it was worth it due to the location, comfort and service. The leisure facilities are good and the spa treatments fantastic - therapists very professional and friendly. Really have nothing bad to say :)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    301
    301
    97
    23
    20
See reviews for
105
400
18
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed here for two nights and paid extra for a club/executive room. If you like a beer or two then it's worth paying the extra for a club room because every night between 5pm and 8pm there are free beers (bottles of stella and becks), wine and canapes (it's not enough for a full meal but tasty nibbles whilst having a beer and watching telly!), all available in the executive lounge. The exec lounge is open all day providing free soft drinks, a nice large TV and internet access (free). The other advantages of the club rooms are they are bigger, have huge king size beds (well ours did!) and you get nice touches like slippers, dressing gowns, free daily paper, complimentary toileteries and continental breakfast in the exec lounge until 9am (otherwise you can pay for breakfast in the main buffet restaurant in advance which is £15 for two people). You should definitely take time to spend a couple of hours in the pool, sauna and steam room too, a fab facility which is again, free. The hotel is also only a few minutes walk to plenty of bars, restaurants and shops in the centre of Chester. We paid to park our car in the hotel car park - £7.50 per day which we didn't think was too bad for a city centre hotel.
We definitely will return and would pay extra for a club room again... an excellent hotel!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinner
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel to attend Chester Races. The outside of the hotel is very drab and the entrance is well hidden if you are walking to the hotel (which we did) but the inside is superb. Check in was very easy and our room was excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful and coped with the Race Crowds with great efficiency and patience. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice, we didn't dine in the restaurant at night as there is so much choice in Chester. Only quibble couldn't get Sky Sports 1, 2 or 3 in room tv as it was not an option. Would stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

This is a very nice hotel as city centre hotels go. It doesn't look that great from the outside but the inside is much better. Check-in/out was fairly quick, breakfast was lovely. The staff at breakfast were very friendly, they gave us a large table as we have a young child and went and got a highchair for us each morning. Rooms were furnished well and clean. Could do with a few more clothes hangers though! Bit freaked out to see hair in the bath plughole - which wasn't mine!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

I absolutely love Chester and this hotel has an excellent location.
It's literally a 3 minute walk to the historic city centre, fab for sightseeing and shopping.
The room was lovely, great service & would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, Wiltshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

Just spent 3 nights here and was really impressed. The staff were friendly and helpful right through the hotel.

Our room was great - clean, fresh and modern with crisp white linens and towels, a good shower and tasteful decor.

Location is right in city centre so you don't need a car to explore once it's safely in the hotel car park. The hotel was so quiet, we had 3 great nights sleep.

Breakfast was nice, only criticism being the lack of fresh fruit. Dinner was ok but overpriced - I would recommend going out for dinner - Upstairs at the Grill is a wonderful (but pricey) restaurant just round the corner from the hotel.

Bus station is a 30 second walk for the Chester Sightseeing tour - good fun and interesting. Train station is about 15-20 mins walk or £4 taxi fare - we took the train to Liverpool, another great day out and train fare was cheap.

Shopping in Chester is good and on the hotel's doorstep.

Didn't use the health club but pool was v small.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

this hotel was very central, and all it looked to be on the hotels website.
beautiful, inside and out.

We got this hotel at a very good price, which probably made it that little more enjoyable!!
look out for bargains

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.