We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Restaurant With Phenomenal Food and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1539 Restaurant And Bar

1539 Restaurant And Bar
Watergate Sq, Chester CH1 2LY, England
+44 1244 304611
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 454 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: January Offer! 2 Courses for £12.50!! Available Monday to Friday 12 - 7pm, and Saturday 12 - 4pm
Manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant With Phenomenal Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We visited this restaurant as a party of 15 for my fathers 70th Birthday Party. We contacted the restaurant in advance and they put us on a fantastic table and arranged everything we asked in terms of decor(party items) and even gave us a special set menu.

The maitre D'/Manager were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble, from their friendly welcome to walking us down to our taxis at the end of the night, nothing was too much trouble. I really can't say enough good things about the service from the managers to the waiters/waitresses, everything was taken care of very politely and professionally whilst still making everyone feel comfortable. As i've read in a previous review, the best compliment i can give is that you never really knew they were there even though our drinks were always topped up, food and drink orders taken and they were always ensuring we were happy with what we got. I have been to a number of highly rated restaurants but the service in this establishment tops the lot and its run like a well oiled machine....Just Great!!

In terms of the food we were given a fantastic menu and everything was scrumptious and everyone in our party commented about every dish. It is great when the food is that good that it becomes a talking point in itself. We had several children with us (ranging 4-12) and they were given their own childrens menu (£7.50 - a real steal) which was again fantastic and a real treat.

In terms of the cost it was a little expensive (but we were celebrating so the wine really did flow)but not extortionate and i doubt you'll find a restaurant of this quality anywhere near this price range. This is a really special place that you don't mind paying a little extra for and if you're considering for any type of special occasion then do not hesitate to book.

I would highly recommend and return in a heartbeat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    88
    41
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have enjoyed many of the special menu deals on weekdays and have always really enjoyed the experience. This Saturday there was a set menu, 2 courses for £10, in the rooftop restaurant overlooking the course, with the racing from Cheltenham and Wetherby showing on the many TVs around the room, as well as the England v Australia Rugby and the football. with the Chester bet team on hand to take your bets at the tables, free copies of the racing post and the drinks flowing (extra cost), the whole experience was very relaxed, the usual superb food and service that is excellent. I hope these sporting/eating/drinking weekends continue and are very successful for the innovative team at the restaurant.My partner Karen is hopefully taking note as it is my birthday on a Saturday soon ;-)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Fantastic from start to Finnish, food was great and the views was a added bonus well done who ever came up with the idea of a restaurant on the race course .

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Chester's best bargain for lunch at £10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We first saw this very attractive Restaurant when we were walking along the Roman Wall by the Racecourse. We booked a table when we next visited Chester. Car parking is always a problem in Chester but this restaurant has free car parking for guests on the Racecourse. Two courses for £10 is exceptional and food was superb. We had a window table overseeing the Racecourse and appreciated the linen napkin and pristine tablecloth accompanying the meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Not only was the food delicious and the excellent wines well priced, but what really made our evening was the wonderful service and ambiance. The staff were well drilled and unobtrusively professional. My elderly father was with us for dinner and the maitre d' in particular made him feel so comfortable and anticipated his needs brilliantly to enable us to have a wonderful, relaxed evening together. The lift access makes the restaurant a great choice for anyone with mobility limitations and the well spaced tables make moving around and hearing everyone speak easy.Thank you all and we will definately return soon!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1539 Restaurant And Bar also viewed

 

Been to 1539 Restaurant And Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1539 Restaurant And Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.