We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Chester Central - South East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Premier Inn Chester Central - South East to your Saves list
Premier Inn Chester Central - South East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caldy Valley Road, Chester CH3 5PR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
“A bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This was our 3rd year staying at this hotel as its handy for our visits to the races. We were booked in for 3 nights Wed - Sat morning and paid £247. Considering we had made our reservation in Feb, I had hoped that we might have got it a bit cheaper, but feel that prices are increased due to the 3 day racing event at this time of year. Newly refurbished since our last visit, the bedroom and toilet are nice and freshly decorated however, we weren't impressed by the new wardrobe hanging facility ! Also had to be very careful when using the kettle, as it now sits in enclosed shelf and the handle gets very hot with the steam. Housekeeping staff were very friendly and ensured that we had anything we needed. The Brewers Fayre adjacaent offers very good food at affordable prices.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side are quieter but 1st floor not good for people who may have mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    230
    47
    6
    7
See reviews for
252
258
17
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Very good budget hotel that has been newly refurbished. Handy for park & ride to take you into Chester. Teething problems are, key system failed and we were locked out NINE times in 4 days. Smoke alarm got us out of bed for a false alarm and this is not covered by their guarantee of a good nights sleep.
Hot water to the basin was totally inadequate and hadn't been sorted after 4 days. Reception staff were abrupt and would not do anything about the customer complaints.
The hotel would have been excellent if they only addressed these minor problems especially when the contractors were still on site.
Excellent & very clean Brewers Fayre next door with very friendly staff

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Stayed here with a view to visiting Cheshire Oaks. Well located no more than 10 minutes away . Stayed in a family room, consisted of double bed, single bed and a camp bed. The camp bed was not comfortable for my son so we requested a double duvet as a mattress softener. Provided by hotel within minutes and worked a treat for him. Price for room was £29 plus we took a meal deal for £44 and then paid for 2 meals for the children aged 14 and10. Total costs for meals and drinks was an additional £20 so £93 for meals drinks and room for 4 . Thought this was good value. Staff were very friendly and would recommend breakfast as others have commented. Would definitely use again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

As you would expect from Premier inn, great sized room and bathroom, big flat screen tv on the wall, choice of pillows and comfy bed. The staff were welcoming and Mary the receptionist gave us a call to make sure our room had everything we needed. The breakfast at the Brewers Fayre next door was well worth the money. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed here as a base to visit local attractions including Chester Zoo, Chester city centre and Blue Planet Aquarium, and this hotel is well located to visit all of these. We stayed in a family room which was clean, comfortable and was very good value for money at only £29 per night. The onsite brewers Fayre pub/restaurant serves good food and i would recommend the all-you-can-eat breakfast. We would definitely stay in this hotel if we were to visit Chester again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights with our 11 year old son in a newly refurbished room. Room was very clean and well-maintained with a new and comfortable bed for our son and a large flat-screen TV. We were made aware of the renovation work prior to arrival, but were not at all disturbed. The hotel car park was closed (for health & safety reasons during the refurbishment) but we were able to use the adjoining one next door at the restaurant. Staff in the hotel were all friendly and efficient, especially Mary at reception. We ate at the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner and had no complaints, although the staff were extremely busy and a little harrassed at breakfast time (it was school holidays!). Location of hotel is ideal for Chester, we walked up the road to the park and ride, so didn't even have to worry about parking and driving in the centre of Chester. Highly Recommended and would definitely use again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

They charge more than other 4 star hotel in Chester for a property with no personality and the room was really dirty. Never again

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Chester Central - South East, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards as we endeavour to meet all of our customers needs.

Our pricing policy works in the same way as many airlines where prices are driven by market conditions at the time. Although prices may increase at times of demand, they may also reduce on nights which are less busy. We do have a Team who closely monitor all hotels to ensure they are competitively priced as we always try and give you the best value for money.

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Chester Central - South East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester Central - South East

Address: Caldy Valley Road, Chester CH3 5PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester Central - South East 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just 2 miles away from Chester, our hotel is the perfect base to discover local attractions, including Chester Zoo. Our hotel offers a variety of rooms for all requirements. With an all you can eat breakfast available and up to 2 children can eat free. Brewers Fayre restaurant also serves good pub favorites in a welcoming environment with indoor play facilities.There is free parking on site for guests and a 24-hour reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Chester Central - South East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Chester Central - South East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.