We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steve from Tamworth” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Chester Central - South East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Chester Central - South East to your Saves list
Premier Inn Chester Central - South East
Caldy Valley Road, Chester CH3 5PR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Chester
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Steve from Tamworth”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My Family stayed at the hotel on Friday 17/02/12. The location is ok with no problems with location. We were in a family room which is basically a normal room with an extra bed put up. This extra bed is very hard an not very comfortable although my 12 year old did not mind. The bathroom was quite dated and had seen better days. The Mixer tap fell off and the cabinets had water damaged so were in need of replacing. It was clean though. I am dissappointed that Premier Inn has stopped serving continental breakfast(unless you pay for a full breakfast).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Chester Central - South East, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    212
    47
    5
    7
See reviews for
229
237
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed on Saturday night. Quick and very pleasant check in by Karen. Room was great size, had all advertised amenities and was clean. Sue on Reception helped us with taxi/local info too, so 10 out of 10 for staff!! Taxi cost us £4 into town, took just a few minutes, hotel quite easy to find too. Breakfast at Twirl of Hay was very nice. Plenty of hot fresh food. If I have to find a criticism.....couldn't see any little milk jugs for my pot of tea - and that's me being very picky if its all I can come up with!!!! Will we stay again...yes we will. Tip - To get the £29 room rates you need to book ONLINE, well IN ADVANCE and BE FLEXIBLE, don't punt up to a hotel on the night and expect a £29 room!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This hotel is typical of the other Premier Inn's we have stayed in. It offers a good quality room and level of cleanliness for a budget hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout the stay. It is set well off the main road so there was no traffic noise, and it is situated alongside a family friendly brewer's fayre with children's indoor and outdoor play areas. It was ideal for us as we were visiting Chester Zoo which is just a few minutes away, straight up the road. Very easy to find. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Generally exactly what you would expect from premier inn. Parking can be a bit restricted near to hotel entrance and you may have to walk a little.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The staff were very unhelpful. Charged more than £80 for bed and breakfast ......... so much for the adverts. The room was basic and the parking great. The hotel had no atmosphere and when I asked for a map of the area the receptionist could not even indicate where the hotel was on the map. We asked about taking public transport into Chester but again told they didn't know. Breakfast was across a road in the nearby pub/restaurant Twirl of Hay. We travel a lot on short mid-week breaks and have stayed in a variety of expensive and not so expensive hotels but this was by far the WORST HOTEL i have ever stayed in. We had stayed in an IBIS hotel in York the night before and that was great and at half the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

As we were meeting with friends in the area this hotel was the closest and reviews were favourable so we booked. £29.00 room only for a Saturday night was a plus. Upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely receptionist who was very friendly and helpful. The car parking was more than ample and the room was basic but clean. As i would expect at this price point. The only downsides to the room/hotel were that the shower head leaked and dripped constantly, the room overlooked a Sainsbury's petrol station so not very pleasant and the hallways once you have left reception going to your room were a bit worn and smelt slightly of smoke. Do not let this put you off though as otherwise it is a high quality premier inn and one of the better ones we have stayed in and didnt hear much road noise even though we faced the busy road and petrol station. The 'Twirl Of Hay' pub is right next door and although didnt use it this pub looked very nice and the added bonus of being right across from a Sainsbury's was handy for supplies. The proximity to town and the place we met friends was very useful too and after a night on the town paid £4.60 to return to this hotel with Abbey taxis. So, in short, if you pay £29.00 to stay then book it. It is well worth this kind of money. We would use again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We payed £29 a night for 2 nights at this Premier Inn and everything was excellent.The staff were very friendly and helpful.The rooms were clean and comfortable and had everything we required. It is well located for visiting Chester as the there is a bus stop very close by and the reurn fare into the town centre was just £3.The meals in the pub/restaurant next door were very good and reasonably priced. All in all we had a very enjoyable weekend here!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Chester Central - South East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester Central - South East

Address: Caldy Valley Road, Chester CH3 5PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chester
#2 Family Hotel in Chester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just 2 miles away from Chester, our hotel is the perfect base to discover local attractions, including Chester Zoo. Our hotel offers a variety of rooms for all requirements. With an all you can eat breakfast available and up to 2 children can eat free. Brewers Fayre restaurant also serves good pub favorites in a welcoming environment with indoor play facilities.There is free parking on site for guests and a 24-hour reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Chester Central - South East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Chester Central - South East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.