We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Chester Central - North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Chester Central - North to your Saves list
Premier Inn Chester Central - North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   76 Liverpool Rd, Chester CH2 1AU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Chester
Gloucester
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here with our 4-month old baby... our first experience of a night away with him, so we were slightly nervous. The family room was very spacious, with plenty of room for his pram and other paraphenalia, as well as the travel cot provided by the hotel.

The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was clean throughout, although the bathroom was a little bit 'tired' around the edges. Nevertheless, the shower above the bath worked well. Despite being on a busy main road and opposite a hospital, we weren't disturbed by the traffic.

Breakfast in the adjoining pub/restaurant was very good, and the waiter exceptionally helpful.

The location was handy for the centre of Chester (approx 30 mins walk), or for a short drive to the Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet.

A good, basic hotel for a night or two - we would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen D, Manager at Premier Inn Chester Central - North, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to review Chester Central North.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your first trip away as a family.

We look foward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards
Karen Dale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    87
    54
    14
    13
See reviews for
83
87
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The staff were excellent. The receptionist was welcoming and went out of her way to give advice on local attractions. The room was clean but a little tired and out dated. Could do with a thorough
overhaul. The hotel location was good, just a 25 minute walk into Chester.
The attached pub was friendly but not inspiring. They stopped serving at 1100 on a Saturday night. We chose not to eat breakfast there and instead went a few hundred yards to the cafe in the local Morrisons store. We would certainly stay there again but a refresh of the rooms beforehand would be most welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen D, Manager at Premier Inn Chester Central - North, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Chester Central North.

We always appreciate feedback and will, of course, look into the concerns you have and act on them in due course.

We look foward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Karen Dale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

stayed for along weekend for our wedding anniversary - room not upto the usual premier inn standard, room was very cramped as was the bathroom, fusty smell in bathroom and drain in bath smelled when water was run, bed was clean and comfy as per usual standard and room very quiet no noise but on the whole from what we saw of the hotel it is dated and needs a re-vamp not usual premier inn standard

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

As my husband, grandaughter (age 5) visited the Zoo, this was as good as we could get for close proximity. I think it was an older Hotel and very basic. It was clean and the staff were very helpful. The only critisism I would have is that I persponally would have preferred a shower rather than a bath and the room had a very dry atmospheric feel. Next door was the Eggerton Arms where meals were taken. Again very obliging staff and the food was good. Breakfast was cooked to order and if you wanted more you just asked. Can't ask for more than that. We left the car and went by bus (15 yds away) into Chester. All in all, an acceptable Hotel for one night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen D, Manager at Premier Inn Chester Central - North, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to Reveiw Chester Central North.

We are glad to here you enjoyed your stay with us, and your kind words shall be passed to our hard working team.

Kind Regards

Karen Dale
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as it was conveniently located for both Chester town centre and the zoo. The staff were fantastic I can't fault them, they went out of their way to make sure our stay was a good one. The hotel is of the older variety so the decore is basic but having stayed in a newer one I find the layout in the older hotels more practical. We were on the ground floor at the back and were not troubled by traffic noise although we could hear the person upstairs walking around. Fortunately, they must have gone to bed early otherwise it could have been a serious nuisance. I would recommend asking for an upstairs room. The room was basic, but that's what I would expect from this hotel chain. We didn't have to plug anything in so the lack of sockets was not a problem. The only thing that was disappointing was the bed, which was hard, although not desperately uncomfortable. Something I was not aware of before we went is that they will sell you discounted tickets for Chester Zoo, very handy if you are planning a trip there. Overall we were happy with our stay and would return.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the first floor at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen D, Manager at Premier Inn Chester Central - North, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to share your thoughts of Chester Central North.

We are always happy to hear that our staff meet the needs of our guests and we look foward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Karen Dale
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last night and I can safely say that the staff were supportive, helpful and could not be faulted. The hotel however is seriously lacking.

The room I was in was upstairs as per single lady Premier Inn policy (annoying but understandabe). The room was the basic standard you would expect. it was clean, the bathroom was tiny and the towels not very big but clean.

Now the downsides - there was only two sockets in the room and they were over on the dressing table area - so if you want to watch TV and make a coffee you can't charge your phone at the same time. There were no sockets by the bed which meant the piece of equipment I needed overnight I couldn't use - fortunately it wasn't life threatening. The room did get cold in the middle of the night having been quite toasty on my arrival.

The noise from the road traffic was bad until gone midnight then it settled down and so did I, I did sleep relatively well until about 4am when the traffic started again and the bin men arrived at 6.15, my room naturally looked out over the bins so had I not already been up I would have been.

Breakfast in the pub next door was fine - no issues with that at all even if it was a little dark in there.

Would I stay again - probably if I needed to be in the area as it was easy to find and reasonably located for my needs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

bed was terrible to sleep in cob webs on ceiling every floor creaked people upstairs woke us up with creaky floor bathroom tooo small far distance from anywere very disapointed husband booked it for valentines want a refund :( !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Chester Central - North, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell short of your expectations. Please be assured at Premier Inn we take all feedback seriously and we would like the opportunity to investigate these issues further. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Chester Central - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester Central - North

Address: 76 Liverpool Rd, Chester CH2 1AU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester Central - North 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Chester Central - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester Central (North) Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Chester Central - North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.