We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mitchell's of Chester Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mitchell's of Chester Guest House to your Saves list
Mitchell's of Chester Guest House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   28 Hough Green, Chester CH4 8JQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Redditch, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I sent my parents here in May for a weekend for their 50th Wedding Anniversary and they thoroughly enjoyed their stay whilst visiting Chester and the Roman day at the Races. My husband and i have both been to Mitchells before and it is a nice, warm and welcoming B&B and would recommend it to anyone staying in Chester.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    17
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
80
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and love the way in which the proprietors put you at ease to start your break / holiday. They are attentive, thoughtful and make the stay more enjoyable. They offered a helpful map of Chester and advice if required on how to enhance one's stay in Chester and the area. The room was lovely,comfortable, clean and had everything you might want, even down to a pair of scissors!

Breakfast was very good. The waiter was very attentive!

A lovely place to stay, only 20 minutes walk from town or £3.00 (yes only £3.00 !) by taxi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I stopped for only one night, but what a great place to stay! The room was brilliant with some touches you would not expect. The proprieters were attentive, thoughtful and very welcoming. When go to chester again we will definately stop here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights with friends. The bedrooms were extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean with little extras, such as slippers and dressing gowns, that one doesn't get in far more expensive hotels. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The owners were friendly and helpful.My leaving gift from the owners now lives in my car (the owners gave each of us a little jubilee bear). I would recommend Mitchells to anyone wanting to stay in Chester

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for two nights on a weekend getaway from London. With all the comforts of home, this charming B&B provided everything we needed with a few extra touches, in a luxurious setting. Helen and Colin were very helpful and welcoming and cooked us wonderful breakfasts. Would recommend this to people wanting to stay somewhere with character at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights and were very pleased with the size, comfort and standard of cleanliness of the room, the helpfulness of the owners and the peaceful area in which this excellent B&B is set. There was only a small problem with the shower running too hot which the owner did not have time to rectify while we were there.

The walk into the city is very easy so the car can be left at Mitchell's.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This is a beautiful B and B. The facilities are great, the rooms are charming and the proprietors are attentive and friendly. Why stay in a chain hotel devoid of any character when you can stay here?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mitchell's of Chester Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell's of Chester Guest House

Address: 28 Hough Green, Chester CH4 8JQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitchell's of Chester Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and beautifully maintained Victorian residence HAS JUST BEEN AWARDED THE COVERTED AA 5 STAR GOLD AWARD. The house is situated an easy 15 minute walk into City centre Chester,we offer free parking.A bus route into the city or an easy 20 minute green walk to the City. Bedrooms furnished in period style with fully equipped en-suite, central heating, TV with DVD and digital channels, hospitality tray, radio/alarm, hair drier,free wireless internet and many other comforts. From the Hallway one enters the period Dining Room where breakfast is served from an extensive menu, all cooked to your personnel preference using fresh local produce.The restful Lounge over-looks a quiet garden, and features a residents honesty bar with Beers, wines and spirits. A wide selection of books, and large TV are also available for guests use. Extensive local information on things to do and places to see is also available for you to read and talk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mitchell's of Chester Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.