We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food and Great Kids Menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linenhall - CLOSED

Linenhall
85 Watergate Street, Chester CH1 2LF, England
01244 316100
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bar, European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Great Kids Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Went for an early evening bite to eat after visiting Chester with the wife, kids (6 & 9) and Grandma (a lot older!).
The service was great. Jack (the Manager) also acted as sommelier and recommended a brilliant wine to go with the food for us adults. We checked the name so we could buy some for home.
The kids menu was really fantastic - usual favourites (with a twist) and some more exotic dishes.
Adult food was fab too - Grandma & I loved the belly pork special while wife loved the salmon.
Very very impressed. Will definitely go again.
Thanks Jack and team!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    19
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frodsham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Sunday Roast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We were recommended here as having the best Sunday roast . We weren't disappointed it was excellent in fact the nearest to a good home roast you could get . Service was excellent without being intrusive . Well done all of you so glad we came !

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Consistant quality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Been here 3 times now for Sunday roast and it has been excellent every time. The service is fast and all meals arrived hot.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Race day treat <3”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My partner and I visited before the races on June 14th. We had booked the table and paid a £20 deposit.
We were 15 minutes early and given a very warm welcome and shown to our table straight away, drinks poured and order taken virtually straight away. We both ordered from the race day menu and had a full English and a passion fruit and champagne dessert, amazing!!! Food was perfect and the staff were amazing. They didn't stand still, attentive but not a pain in the backside like most places, (like asking how your food is when you have just taken a massive mouth full) drinks ordered. Will be visiting again and highly recommended
Used to visit here when it was the fat cat! Loved it then too

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Visited last Sunday, had a fabulous sunday roast very reasonable and the staff were superb! ! Well recommended for the next trip to the races have great deals on!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linenhall also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linenhall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.