We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food beautiful ,service terrible” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The white horse. Chester racecourse

The white horse. Chester racecourse
Chester Racecourse | The Watergate, Chester CH1 2LY, England
+44 1244 304650
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #204 of 454 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food beautiful ,service terrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Really needs someone who knows what there doing front of house ,such a shame as it is a lovely setting ,probs try elsewhere in the future ,chefs keep doing what your doing ,the food once it came was beautiful .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    67
    41
    45
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Real staff issues let it all down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

On arrival we were impressed with the building and decor inside the pub, it was classy and wouldn't of changed anything. It had a nice feel to the place.
When we were greeted at the door the lady said had we booked and when we said no she started to look around as if it was a problem but the place was empty.
We sat down and no one came to ask if we wanted a drink so we went to the bar. The service was so poor from start to finish. Staff not knowing what food we had ordered, staff not asking if we wanted drinks, staff not asking if we were ok...the list goes.
Also what let the place down was the fact that the staff all wore trainers. This just looked messy and brought such a nice place down a notch, also there was people that milled about in there own clothes, I don't know if they were mangers or what but one of them Served us our dessert and he just looked like a customer.
By the looks of things there was no one delegating the staff and as a result made a place that could of been amazing to just average.
Food was really good but again bad service over shadowed it.
With local competition such as the architect (really good pub) they need to book there ideas up.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited The White Horse on the sunny bank holiday weekend. We were pleasently surprised with our overall experience. Plenty for children and they welcomed dogs in the beer garden which is always a plus point for us. The food was good for the price and the outside bar and BBQ stalls were a brilliant idea! The staff were a little hesitant when it came to us ordering food however I feel once this place settles in the staff will soon be managed accordingly. Well recommended!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Refreshing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

No need to go racing to experience the excellent value and quality on offer at the White Horse. The sunday roast is to die for and set in a perfect position adjacent to the vast childrens play area. You certainly have to visit experience the welcome, great food and freindly service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went for a meal one pleasant evening in May. A delightful setting and pleasant ambience. The menu was trendy and the meal itself just about adequate. However the service was appalling. We were served by children who just did not have a clue and clearly had never been trained.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The white horse. Chester racecourse also viewed

 

Been to The white horse. Chester racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The white horse. Chester racecourse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.