We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Square Bottle

The Square Bottle
78-92 Foregate Street, Chester CH1 1HB, England
+44 1244 312281
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #159 of 390 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“As expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We usually eat at a Wetherspoons pub wherever we go and this was as good as any of them. Clean pleasant atmosphere. Friendly staff, good food and average prices

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    32
    12
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cracking little find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Have always walked past but saw the frontage open today and popped in for a nose. Had a peri chicken and a craft beer both were perfect. Place seems to be on the up, with cold beer and hot food it's a winner for me

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Criccieth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing service whilst packed on Race day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Called into this Wetherspoons for breakfast on Ladies Day 8th May and it was packed.4 of us got onto a table for 2 and placed our order at the bar ,and very promptly the breakfast orders arrived looking delicious.How the staff cope when it is so manic is hard to understand.
The staff are all friendly and are constantly clearing dead glasses and empty plates and keeping everything moving.
A couple of years back we also ended up in this pub at the end of the day when it was also packed and we thought we would be lucky to get any grub if we could get a table.The food was excellent and served promptly despite our reservations ,so full credit to this establishment for being able to deliver when under pressure.Good value of course as all Wetherspoons pubs.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Recently visited the Square Bottle when out shopping in Chester with friends, the menu was very good, with a good variety at very reasonable prices, I opted for fish and chips with a drink. The bar staff were quick to serve and very polite. My meal arrived in less than 10 minutes and was very good. Also the recent Toilet refurbishment looks great. Overall a good experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great steak!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Popped in last tuesday evening during steak club. Ordered a medium rare sirloin which arrived hot and well cooked including a drink all for £8!! Bargain! The Irish gentleman who served me at the bar was very helpful and friendly aswell as the young lady who served my meal. If im being picky then i would have liked to receive a check on my food as if there were any problems i would have had to leave my seat to complain at the bar however no problems as meal was delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie G, Manager at The Square Bottle, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thanks for your kind words, we will pass your thanks on to the staff working that night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Square Bottle also viewed

 

Been to The Square Bottle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Square Bottle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.