We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“croque monsieur - tres bien!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lombard House Coffee & Tea House

Lombard House Coffee & Tea House
Foregate Street, Chester, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 54 Coffee & Tea in Chester
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“croque monsieur - tres bien!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

the location, style and 'feel' of this place fuse together nicely to create a rather perfect cafe for a pre, mid or post Chester shopping experience respite. I had the croque monsieur, which was cooked and presented to perfection with a side of homemade coleslaw and salad (offered with a bottle of grapefruit dressing - sounds unusual, tasted divine). They offer an interesting selection of teas, served in tasteful vintage china, which is available to buy/peruse at in the shop. Overall, I loved my experience here, it was peaceful, stylish and reasonably priced, with wonderful food. I'll definitely be returning.... next time - CAKE! :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“small portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I went a few weeks after this opened. I ordered a "hummus slate" which was supposed to be bread, olives, some olive oil, and hummus. I got a thimble's worth of hummus which wasn't enough to go round the bread. On the whole, the portion was small and not filling enough. The food and drink is overpriced in here, you are paying more for the surroundings and mismatched crockery. Staff are nice enough though.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional English tea shop with a modern distinctive twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Conveniently situated between Chester rail station, Grosvenor Park and the main shops,this is an absolute gem. Perfect for lunch,morning coffee or afternoon tea,with over 20 different teas on offer-and first class service. We particularly enjoyed their toasted Brie,bacon and cranberry sandwich which comes with a good salad garnish and was followed by their Chai spiced sponge cake. There is a beautiful range of homemade cakes and all were very tempting! It is family run and located in a former bank building which adds a bit of character. It also sells some high quality deli type products including Grumpy Mule coffees. Much better than any of the big chains and something to put Chester on your map!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“tasty stop off for a cuppa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Dropped into this place whilst looking for a quick bite to eat whilst visiting Chester. Home made cakes looked inviting which drew us in. Once inside the place was filled with charm, and exactly the place to go if you are looking for a bit of English nostalgia (mismatched china and teapots). Lots of different teas and coffee on offer as well as tasty snacks, sandwiches etc, hot chocolate for colder days too. We ordered teas, and toasted sandwiches which were delicious. Also had a home made toasted teacake which was probably the best one I've ever tasted. Great staff and a lovely atmosphere

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lombard House Coffee & Tea House also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Lombard House Coffee & Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lombard House Coffee & Tea House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.