We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porta

Porta
140 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HT, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 376 restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Everything marvellous. Greeted warmly beer n wine lovely. Food delicious. Staff couldnt do enough. The padron peppers superb

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    68
    24
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great venue and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

As we walked in and I noticed the young chefs my heart sank as they boast an authentic Spanish chef and neither looked remotely Spanish. But I should not have worried, the food was excellent as was the service and ambiance, the entire meal was great and I would highly recommend eating here.

There is a small menu but it is all cooked fresh and you can taste that immediately, we sampled quite a number of dishes and everyone was excellent in particular the "pigs cheeks" they were awesome.

Just go and visit, you can't book but we only waited for 10 min (on a Sat night) I will defiantly be returning soon. A great time had

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great intimate atmosphere, loved the food and the ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great restaurant, great atmosphere, very authentic, staff very helpful and food great! Tables could do with being slightly bigger, as when having Tapas you get loads of plates. Food is very good but a bit on the pricey side, as you need to order several plates. It's good for a treat, but not if you've got a budget. Will definitely return though...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Seek Porta out, you will not be disappointed..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Porta is on our doorstep, and we have visited several times now and the food and service is just great. As much or as little your appetite requires you will find many temptations at Porta with great Rioja as well.
From Padron peppers which are not easy to find in /around chester, to the pigs cheeks and these cheese dish is just mouthwatering..

The service is also very good and relaxed, there is no pressure and they are very friendly..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

It might be small and you can't book, but that just adds to the authentic european feel to Porta.
Excellent tapas with specials on daily.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porta also viewed

 

Been to Porta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.