We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe At The Walls

Cafe At The Walls
13 Bridge Place | Lower Bridge St, Chester CH1 1SA, England
01244 637721
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 390 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
Description: WE MIGHT BE TINY BUT OUR FOOD IS MIGHTYFamily run coffee shop, situated next to Chester's historic walls. Close to the River Dee and Chester race course. Home cooked meals are also available with a daily specials board. Soup of the day is served with a hot crusty roll and butterServing traditional afternoon teas and cream teas and a wide selection of home baked cakes.We also serve an all day full english breakfast as well as a wide variety of breakfast baps, to eat in or take out. Picnic lunch deals available, along with a variety of sandwich's, panini's and baguettes, freshly made to order. A range of coffees and teas. Don't see something on the menu, just ask, we will do our best to accomodate your requests.WE KNOW ACCEPT CARD PAYMENTS
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Only average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We popped into the cafe on a sunny day, it looked nice from outside. We had a coffee which tasted okay at best and a blueberry muffin which was very nice. I thought the location was good but the cafe could be a lot better. I didn't find it very cozy and it lacked atmosphere. The staff were okay but not overly friendly. There was no music on so we had to almost whisper as we didn't want to be too loud. I probably wouldn't come back as there are better cafés in Chester

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claireeee_12, Owner at Cafe At The Walls, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Sorry, you didnt like us, we aim to offer a warm friendly atmosphere, we dont have music, being such a small cafe our customers like to talk to each other, without the loud background music that plays in some establishments, we have been told we serve the best coffee in Chester, so am suprised it disappointed, glad you enjoyed the muffin though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Popped in for tea and had more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Found this small cafe with reasonable prices and nice atmosphere by accident. we really only wanted a cup of tea but ended up having sandwiches etc. Its very clean, friendly and so many choices on the menu, would certainly go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claireeee_12, Owner at Cafe At The Walls, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
So glad you enjoyed us, we are tucked away but very convenient when walking the walls or strolling along the river, thankyou for your review and hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Don't accept cash... Don't tell you up front”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Weather is absolutely lashing it down. Decide to nip in for a sandwich and a hot brew. Place our order, go to pay with card, why wouldn't you these days? Tiny "cash only" sign tucked behind a load of condiments. Had to traipse uphill into the centre of Chester to get cash. Got back, absolutely soaked through, now there's nowhere to sit.

Why wouldn't you accept card with all the cheap card facilities like iZettle, Square etc. I got the money out after all that, for nothing. Waste of time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claireeee_12, Owner at Cafe At The Walls, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
So, sorry, that that happened! We have a sign on the door as well as one on the till and also on here, onion ring and facebook. We are a new business and are looking into a card machine, we have never had a complaint re this before, I will make the signs bigger. Sorry again, that you were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Small, but lots of choice on the menu.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This may only be a small cafe, about 4 tables plus a couple of armchairs, but there is a lot to choose from on the menu. The roast lamb with minted gravy baguette is very good. All of the food is very reasonably price, it did not cost us an arm and leg for a family of 4 to have a bite to eat and a drink. Well worth a visit and just a stones throw to all of the River Dee attractions.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claireeee_12, Owner at Cafe At The Walls, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thankyou for your review, we appreciate our customers feed back. Glad you enjoyed us. It is true we are only small 18 covers, but we do do take away too, so if we are ever full and you fancy a bite to eat or indeed just a drink, pop in and get a take away and enjoy on the banks of the Dee :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“lovely cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

nice small cafe with reasonable prices and nice atmosphere .
we really enjoyed the breakfast on a sunny Sunday morning .

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claireeee_12, Owner at Cafe At The Walls, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thankyou so much for your review, glad you enjoyed your breakfasts and our cafe, hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe At The Walls also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Cafe At The Walls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe At The Walls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.