We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheshire Military Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheshire Military Museum

Cheshire Military Museum
The Castle, Chester CH1 2DN, England
+44 1244 327617
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 30 attractions in Chester
Type: Military Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Cheshire Military Museum, in Chester, tells the story of the Cheshire Soldiers from the 17th Century right through to the present day. Follow the exploits of the Regiments of Cheshire and their travels across the world during many great battles. Learn about the wars they fought, experience life in the trenches for a World War One soldier, and immerse yourself in the history of the soldiers. The museum also houses the Archive of the Cheshire Regiment. For all enquiries relating to people who have served with the Cheshire Regiment click here.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cheshire Military Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just visited the Cheshire Military Museum yesterday 19 March 2013. The museum is celebrating 350 years of the Military in Cheshire. This museum is located in Chester Castle and depicts the histry of five famous regiments depicting within the county of Cheshire. The history of the army dates back to Roman times and discovers the history behind the 17th Century army under Charles II. This mueum shows the exploits of the 22nd Cheshire Regimen in India and up to the present conflict in Afghanistan. The exhibits are abslutely superb and the models depicted are so life like it feels you are looking at real people. A thorough enjoyable visit and a very informative depiction of the history. Definitely well worth a visit. As my husband was a former Cheshire soldier there was no fee as this had been paid for during his service with the regiment.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    18
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Recommended Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I definitely recommend this museum to visit. It provides lots of visual, audio and digital information that I found they are important. Uniform, medals, diorama, and the other objects in the museum helped me little bit to imagine how the war era looked like. The staffs are friendly and the admission is very reasonable, I paid 2 quids (for student). It's worth spot to visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Enaction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Good couple of hours if the enactors are there. Very realistic when they carry out the musket firing drill. Noisy when live firing but well worth it. The museum is ok lots to see.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“INformation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Well laid out museum. Lots of information. Need to re visit to take it all in.Good models and artifacts. Friendly staff,

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Really Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I was recommended to visit this museum by a member of staff from the hotel and I'm glad I took his advice. The museum is very well priced (even cheaper for seniors). It does not glorify war - it offers a real insight into the men of the regiment that fought in many areas of the world. This is done through many different aspects- miltaria, uniforms, diorama, original letters and so on. You can even walk through a reconstruction of a first world war trench. The history of how the regiment started was equally interesting. At 60+ years of age I learned things about world history that I didn't know.

I was particularly moved by the medal cabinets, where the medals of members of the regiment are stored- together with some details of where they came from. The V.C's that are there reflected the bravery of the men who received them,

The museum is well laid out. There is an access statement available on their website and the staff are friendly, cooperative and informed. Yes a really fascinating visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheshire Military Museum also viewed

 

Been to Cheshire Military Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheshire Military Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cheshire Military Museum to your Saves list