We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously good food and great people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Istanbul BBQ

Istanbul BBQ
85 Brook Street, Chester CH1 3DX, England
01244 326222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 454 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Opening Hours:Mon - Thurs 5pm till 10pmFri - Sun 12 noon till 10pm
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Seriously good food and great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Excellent meal and service. Left feeling stuffed (on reflection the Baclava and Ice Cream was a step too far!). Best Turkish coffee I've had outside of Istambul. Would certainly visit again and would highly reccommend (maybe skip a starter next time though and be a bit more careful with the huge basket of really good bread!)

Excellent value for money as well, actually cheapish by down south standards especially with a bottle of wine included. Absolutley brilliant

Edward Parker

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    117
    38
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent, first time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed visiting. Very friendly, great food and super tasty! Watch out for the portion sizes, don't eat too much of the fresh bread.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Meat lovers delight!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Quiet Monday evening revelation at this restaurant. Staff were very friendly and attentive and made us feel very welcome. Food was plentiful and reasonably priced. We didn't have a starter and when our main courses arrived we were both glad because we would never have been able to eat it all. Meat was beautifully cooked to order while you watched. Highly recommended to anyone who enjoys beautifully barbecued meat.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, Wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great staff poor food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Visited here based on recommendations for a friends birthday.
The service we received was fantastic and the staff couldn't have been more helpful however unfortunately the food didn't live up to that standard at all.
4 of us all had the mixed grill which was dry and quite bland.
For the price I would definitely go somewhere else which is a shame. One of our party has been a couple of times before and said it had been better once before but on 2 occasions the food hadn't been up to scratch.
Very overpriced for a basic kebab.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Turkish barbecue ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The food is very tasty, big portions for a reasonable price, very good service, inside is clean and everything looks nice. Very nice music and fresh fish from the day. All good except for the Turkish tea, they do not sell fresh mint tea, only tea bag. Recommend this place...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istanbul BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Istanbul BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Istanbul BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.