We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, Amazing food, Best by far.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shillong - CLOSED

Shillong
111 Boughton, Chester CH3 5BH, England
01244 311112
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely staff, Amazing food, Best by far.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

This really is a hidden gem in plain sight, if you're one of the many locals in Chester who drove past Locus throughout the years (excellent reviews) and said.. oh... I'll have to go there sometime... MAKE THE EFFORT this time! You won't regret it, the car park isn't 'that' scary to get in to! ;)

We've eaten in 3 or 4 times over the last couple of years and had brilliant, attentive, friendly and accommodating service which led us to order plenty of takeaways.

We're not the type to get stuck in our ways, so we try other Indian restaurants/takeaways every now and again but never seem to find food up to scratch, there's always a look between us of... "hmmmn... its not as good as Shillong...".

Eating in is usually a relaxed, peaceful affair, so if you struggle to make conversation with your partner, then Brook St./City road is probably your best bet, along with the noisy drunks to hide your disappointment and despair.

"Madras hot" please ;)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Fantastic freshly cooked curry. Their dishes don't have the same bland base taste of all other curt houses I've been to. Definitely recommend the Shillong special or for a little hotter the raj Bengal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Dine there regularly. Arguably Chester's best Indian restaurant with some differentiated options on the menu! good value and very friendly staff

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food...excellent value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Lovely authentic Indian cuisine, attentive service, extremely good value for money. Would go again. Glad we found it on tripadvisor as we wouldn't have come across it otherwise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Give it a go if may be nice for you”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Give it a go, it may be nice for you.

Watery curry. Not much flavour. A tad on expensive side for what you get. Poppadoms and dips are really not good. Good quality meat though.

Will try other curry houses I have not been to before considering going back

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shillong also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shillong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.