We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Dee

River Dee
Chester, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 30 attractions in Chester
Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Scenic and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The city benefits in many ways from having the River Dee flowing through it. There are many pleasure boats to cruise on, which is great way to absorb some of the atmosphere of the city, and it's surroundings.
During the summer, you will also be entertained by the numerous musicians on the waterfront, whilst enjoying your favourite beverage.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    101
    23
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The beautiful River Dee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have read poems that people write about rivers and never knew why the emotion. Now I know. The River Dee somehow captures your heart, beautiful with lights and shadows and its easy flow. I could sit for hours and just look at the river. I can now close my eyes and visualize it and get that peaceful serene feeling. I took many photos here, the bridge, the people walking along, the park, the restaurants! Awwww!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Relaxing by the river Dee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

In the Summer months this is a really pleasant place to sit and watch the world go by, especially if they have a band playing on the bandstand. My wife and I love to sit on the forms and just people watch. We usually go to the riverfront pub at the end of the river walk where they have an outside area where you can watch the boats and swans whilst eating your meal. It is also good to walk the historic walls that you can access from the river and they have regular river trips including a fish and chips cruise! There are lots of people milling about Spring through to Autumn so it's never boring to visit the river. There is a car parking area off the main road into Chester from the Welsh side as you come across the bridge over the Dee and there are disabled spots here although you can park anywhere if these are taken as long as you display your badge. One warning ... Make sure you set your badge correctly for the 4 hours allowed (at time of writing this) and do not buy extra hours at that time as this is not allowed - you have to come back on the 4 hours and then move your car and buy any extra hours you need. NOTE: It is cheaper after 5pm (£1.50) - but the car park closes the gates at 10pm.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“River Dee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The walk along the riverside is very pleasant.There are some very good pubs adjacent to the river.Trips on the river in self drive boats and larger pleasure craft areavailable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol,uk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Impressive beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Had the chance to stay alongside this river twice in Sept.
Fast flowing and rusty looking (don't know why) Runs through Llangollen and Chester which were our 2 stops on our week break.
Would recommend both of these places for a weekend or mid-week break.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Dee also viewed

 

Been to River Dee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Dee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added River Dee to your Saves list