We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St John the Baptist's Church

St John the Baptist's Church
Chester, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 30 attractions in Chester
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals
Attraction Details
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The people were so lovely and eccentric in that charming English way. They answered my rather niave questions without prejudice and were so genuinely warm and passionate. The coffin in the wall is such a cool artifact and definitely a highlight of Chester! Go and visit and have a cup of tea.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    19
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shefford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“ORIGINAL BASIC CHURCH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

OK the actual church is not sensational but they must be the most friendly people in the UK. Just drop in, have a cup of tea or coffee and relax for a short while

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“St John's Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Great welcome and we were allowed to take as many photos as we liked. A beautiful church which it is easy to miss.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We came across this wonderful old church whilst making our way to the river Dee. The church dates back to the 11th century and is a treasure trove of history. Although still a very large church it is incredible to realise that it is only half it's original construction size. It is steeped in the history of Chester as a royal historical seat and exhibits many reminders of its long life.

The warmth of the welcome to the church and the informative way we were given the history of all the events that had taken place there made this a special and unexpected visit. To finish a visit tea, sandwiches and pastries are available to purchase.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very atmospheric”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We enjoyed our visit. Very atmospheric and well worth a visit. On the tourist trail too so easy to find.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St John the Baptist's Church also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to St John the Baptist's Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St John the Baptist's Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added St John the Baptist's Church to your Saves list