We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton to your Saves list
The Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   The Cheshire Cat | Whitchurch Road, Christleton, Chester CH3 6AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 78 Chester B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was our second stay here and again we were not disappointed. We stayed in an annexe room which backs onto the canal. The room had plenty of space and was extremely clean and well serviced during our 3 day stay. There was plenty of tea,coffee and biscuits supplied and all the necessities for the bathroom were supplied. It was very quiet despite us staying in peak season.
The breakfast was well presented and plentiful and the staff were pleasant and helpful.
One criticism however was the state of the floor in the breakfast room which had lots of food crumbs scattered around the whole of our stay.A member of staff told me that they could not use the hoover first thing in the morning or last thing at night due to the noise disturbing the guests. Understandable but surely a brush and pan of Ewbank could do the job.It seemed a shame as everything else was scrupulously clean. By the last day of our stay this became a bit irritating and very noticeable!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you found Innkeeper's Lodge Chester a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    58
    20
    10
    7
See reviews for
36
85
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at Innkeepers Lodge for 2 nights to celebrate nieces birthday and go to Ladies Day at Chester Races. We had family room number 3 which was a lovely room. In the main building, Very spacious, had 3 lovely big windows, comfy bed and clean.

Traveled with our 2 boys of 14 and 10. Although family room, only one sofa bed and there was no way my boys would share a bed. Knowing this, we took a blow up bed with us and room plenty big enough for our young one to sleep on it. Much nicer than a Travel Lodge/premier inn.

Breakfast not really continental. More toast and cereal although did have croissants on day 2. You can order cooked breakfast but we didn't need it.

Would definitely recommend. Very friendly staff, nice room.

Chester races brilliant day but expensive.

We ate dinner at Ring O Bells in Christleton. Fantastic. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: 3 lovely size. The one that is split level next door, really nice too
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Chester, Christleton and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duns, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights while attending a wedding at a nearby hotel. The hotel is conveniently located close to the park and ride and alongside the very pleasant Shropshire Union Canal which allows you easy access to the heart of Chester. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the bedroom though on the small side was clean and comfortable. The menus offered were comprehensive though only continental breakfast was taken. This was most adequate with an excellent supply of good coffee and if needed cooked breakfasts were provided.
We are likely to return if and when we visit Chester again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at Chester, Christleton. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarforthLeeds
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Food,bathroom,manager and staff excellent.Outdoor sitting areas very good and well used.
Smaller matters? Cobwebs rear bedroom door. No knobs on wardrobe doors.
Breakfast room failed to function one morning (only 1 staff on duty) but was remedied after my pleas. The room was fine but not much dusting done in some areas. Annoying landing light on all night, But we would definitely return

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent stay at The Cheshire Cat, Christleton, Chester .
Best regards
Innkeeper's Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Smiles all round - thoroughly enjoyed our stay - great location close to Park & Ride although we walked into Chester along the canal. Appreciated the warm and genuine welcome from Peter. We stayed in a large family room (2) and even then it was a bit warm as we stayed during the heatwave but it was only for two nights so not overly concerned. We had an excellent dinner but were not overly impressed with the continental breakfast although the coffee was very good! The room in which the breakfast is served looked like it hadn't been cleaned from the evening before and the serving area was a bit makeshift. All in all though we would go back and recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments following your visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Chester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A great pub with B and B just outside Chester.

Rooms are large, clean with good decoration. Continental breakfast was good, although presentation could be improved. The staff were very helpful.

We chose this B and B as it had a great location, and were very impressed by the rooms and food and service in the pub. There is a canal at the rear of the hotel, which has a great sun terrace overlooking it - a great place for lunch for breakfast or lunch in the sun.


Very close to

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Chester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

It was very warm on the day/ evening of our overnight stay and our room in the Annex ( like all others) had had hot sun pouring in through the window all day and consequently was like an oven. The windows came down to floor level ( design fault) and because of " Health & Safety "etc could only be partially opened. As we were two responsible adults I asked Management whether the window lock could be released to open the window for our own " Health and Well Being" .
We were politely refused, were not able to change rooms (they probably all had the same problem anyway) and neither were portable fans/ blowers available.
Consequently we had no sleep at all in the night,the temperature in the room being 27C. My wife tried to sleep on the floor with her head next to the small window opening but it made little difference.

I appreciate that we have been going through a spell of very hot weather and although I do not expect airconditioning, the hotel should have a portable fans availaable on request. It is also time that this ridiculous Health & Safety issue with open windows was overturned.

One solution in this hotel would be to have protective bars fitted to the windows thus providing security and H &S but also adequate ventilation. I hope Management will look into this.

Sadly this issue rather coloured our impression of this hotel which in other areas of location, service and food was reasonable for the price.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Annex are next to the canal but unfortunately there are no windows on that side . In ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton

Address: The Cheshire Cat | Whitchurch Road, Christleton, Chester CH3 6AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the places to stay in Chester, this historic lodge has some of the best tales to tell. Built in Christleton on a key civil war battle site, the Cheshire Cat played a crucial role in World War II before being restored as a warm and welcoming hotel in the 1970s.The lodge's 14 comfy en-suite rooms are complemented by a cosy pub, which is dripping with rustic character and rural charm. Here you can enjoy seasonally inspired country dining together with a range of cask ales and well-chosen wines.There are plenty of things to see and do in Chester. Fantastic shopping, black and white medieval architecture, historic city walls and the famous Chester Racecourse are just a few of its many attractions. Children and adults alike will love Chester zoo or you can explore the weaving footpaths of the unspoilt Delamere Forest. West Cheshire is full of rolling hills, sweeping valleys and quaint market towns worth exploring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheshire Cat Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.