We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced very average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton

Save Saved
You added The Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   The Cheshire Cat | Whitchurch Road, Christleton, Chester CH3 6AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 78 Chester B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Over priced very average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I live very close to the Cheshire Cat and have eaten there many times. The location and decor are lovely and the staff very friendly and polite. However I have to say that the food has become very mediocre. Over priced, small portions and tasteless. I had the hunters chicken and the chips and peas which accompanied it were obviously frozen not fresh. The chicken breast was small and over cooked as was the bacon and cheddar cheese was non existent. This makes the last three visits disappointing and we just wanted to give it one more chance really. Fortunately there are other far better eateries locally so am afraid we will definitely not be eating there again. Such a shame as used to be so good but these days value for money and good food are paramount.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    51
    19
    10
    7
See reviews for
30
69
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised at our room, bit like a terraced cottage room, very nice. Comfortable room. Nice evening meal in the pub. Lovely walking along by the canal. Continental breakfast very nice, if a bit noisey - cleaner hoovering in pub.
We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Fair do to Innkeepers Lodge - they listened to my complaint and made a phone call to me. They informed me that a number of key staff including the Manager had been sacked and staff from all of their different branches had been pulled in to help get the Lodge back on track. He said there were going to be a lot more people finished and he was aware that the place was a total mess and shambles. The Manager who rang me agreed with everything I had said in my complaint and said that he had spent the day ringing around apologising to all those people who had stayed recently and made complaints - he must have had a few because he rang me at 5 pm!.

He asked would I like to return in two months when hopefully it would be back up to speed and to see all the changes and how the place had improved but I declined so I was offered one free night in a lodge of my choice.

Will be interesting to hear from anyone who goes to the Cheshire Cat to see if there have been some good improvements and changes made - such a shame really because it has the potential to be an excellent play to stay and eat and also because of its location. Such a shame that it had been left to go to rack and ruin.

Hopefully some comments on recent stays will be posted. But hats off to Innkeepers Lodge for sitting up, taking notice and doing something about it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed for a 2 night midweek break at this Innkeepers Lodge. The first thing that struck us was the location - right alongside the canal with lovely walks and set in nice gardens, yet only a five minute drive into the centre of Chester.
We ate here on our first night, and the food is OK if a little high priced for what is basically pub food.
Room was spotlessly clean and nicely furnished. Also, because most rooms are in the annexe at the back, they are very quiet with none of the noise from the bar/restaurant. The only slight fault with the room we had (room 11), was that you couldn't watch the TV while sitting on the bed due to the footboard of the lovely wooden bed. The TV is on a low table, and could do with either mounting on the wall or a taller desk. This is only an issue as there is no other seating in the room to watch TV from. We solved it by taking a drawer out of the bedside table and standing the TV on it - a minor problem that didn't really spoil our stay.
The complimentary continental breakfast each morning is a nice touch, and there is plenty to choose from. Various cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, pastries and nice fresh bread to make toast as well as tea, coffee or juices are all available from a help yourself buffet.
The best bit of this break though was the price - £25 per room per night, including the breakfast. This was a special summer offer, but even at their "normal" price of aroung £55 a night it would be hard to beat.
Overall, a great value break in a nice , clean, quiet room. If ever we are around this part of the country again, we would not hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the annexe - no noise from the pub/restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed at this pub for a family weekend away and we had a great time. The pub serves good food and beer, staff are fiendly and helpful and it is located on the bank of the canal which affords a good walk or day boat hire. On the downside, although the rooms are clean they are a bit tatty with limted storage space and seats. They did inform us that at the end of the season the rooms are being modernised. Breakfast was boring, same old cereal and bread. Not much of an offering for the cost of the stay.

Room Tip: Room 14, The others we saw were a bit small or odd shape with funny little staircases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhos on Sea, North Wales
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed Friday night as a complimentary evening with food following last visit (see previous Trip Report). A very different experience. I understand staff have changed and there is a clear improvement. The welcome was good, the staff in the restaurant were smiling and pleasant and helpful this time, and the food quality had also improved. And what a change at breakfast - the frosty reception from the staff on duty had changed to a smile and a welcome and even an explanation of what was where in the buffet!!!

The room was spotless - one or two niggles in the bathroom with the shower and health and safety issues hence the four star rating and not five.

Now would willing and gladly go again.

Special mention to Andy (who was the only person last time who was helpful) and who came across again as pleasant, friendly and very welcoming, and the waitress, sorry, should have asked her name, but she was just so helpful, friendly and pleasant.

I think the place and staff needed a kick up the you know what. They've had it and it's so much better.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the main building and also outside across the garden. The indoor rooms are family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The Cheshire Cat is in a fantastic location alongside the canal in Christleton, near Chester. It has 4 beer gardens which were very popular on the hot sunny night we stayed. Our room was in the main building, number 3 "Cow and Calf" which is a family room at the front of the building. The room was very spacious with a four poster bed and a sofa bed for up to 2 children. I was very impressed with the room. Check in was quick and efficient. We had food and drinks in the pub, there was a good choice on the menu and the food was lovely. We had a nice walk down the canal path after dinner, then returned for another drink before retiring to our room.
The continental breakfast offerred good choices and staff were attentive and friendly. The Cheshire Cat is perfectly located for Chester, Chester Zoo, and the Crocky Trail.
We have stayed previously in the annexe, which was just as nice but the room was much smaller.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, with family rooms particularly spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton

Address: The Cheshire Cat | Whitchurch Road, Christleton, Chester CH3 6AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the places to stay in Chester, this historic lodge has some of the best tales to tell. Built in Christleton on a key civil war battle site, the Cheshire Cat played a crucial role in World War II before being restored as a warm and welcoming hotel in the 1970s.The lodge's 14 comfy en-suite rooms are complemented by a cosy pub, which is dripping with rustic character and rural charm. Here you can enjoy seasonally inspired country dining together with a range of cask ales and well-chosen wines.There are plenty of things to see and do in Chester. Fantastic shopping, black and white medieval architecture, historic city walls and the famous Chester Racecourse are just a few of its many attractions. Children and adults alike will love Chester zoo or you can explore the weaving footpaths of the unspoilt Delamere Forest. West Cheshire is full of rolling hills, sweeping valleys and quaint market towns worth exploring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your The Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheshire Cat Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.