We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Racecourse on New Crane Street, Chester CH1 2LY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Chester
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good value, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Booked as a last minute stop over, hotel represented good value for money and in a great location just 5 minutes walk from the shops.
The room although a little chilly was extremely clean and tidy with an excellent power shower and comfortable bed.
The breakfast although fairly basic was welcome and set us up for the rest of the day. The only negative was the receptionist in the morning who was surly and didn't enquire whether we'd had a pleasant stay or not.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressChester, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express at Chester Racecourse.

We are please to receive all reviews and use them as a learning tool.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the hotel and its value for money.

I am sorry that the room was slightly cold on your arrival and during the colder months we do try and turn the heating on for you prior to your arrival. I am sorry on this occasion this was not carried out.

I am appalled to reas you comments regarding out reception team, these standards are not acceptable and the member of staff mentioned has been spoken too. We feel that it is important to receive guest feedback so we can make the relevant improvements and continue doing the things guest love.

I hope this hasn’t affected your opinion on the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    317
    126
    47
    16
See reviews for
112
329
12
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We usually stop at Crowne Plaza in Chester but went for Holiday Inn instead because of it's nicer location. However the experience totally spoiled our xmas break. Won't be staying there. Staff unhelpful would be an understatement.

Would not recommend under any circumstances

Dr Ian Nelligan

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax uk
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

We have just returned from one of our many trips to Chester staying this trip at this hotel. The hotel has a good location for chester town center and its shops and restaurants. Having a free car park is a bonus so near to the city. The car park attendant although he actually works for Chester Race course was proffesional in his manner as are the hotel staff. The complimentary breakfast isnt the best but as stated its complimentary and there is a varied choice. The tv's in the rooms could do with updated as they only have a few channels and they are the old fasioned portable style. The rooms also have free internet access which is also a bonus.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

Hotel was easy to find, and perfrectly loacted for the city of Chester; just 5 minutes from the city centre. The hotel staff were very friendly and the rooms were very comfortable and clean. Only down was the complimentary breakfast was limited but as I say it was complimentary.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressChester, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse, responded to this review, December 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is always great to hear positive comments. I am glad to hear that the rooms met your expectations and that our staff provided a friendly service.

With regards to breakfast, we previously just served a continental breakfast off cold items. We recently introduced two hot items, sausages and scrambled eggs. Since this came into effect we have realised through guest communication that this isn't suited to everyone. IHG have therefore decided to change breakfast slightly again. This is currently being piloted in some of our hotels and will be introduced to all hotels in the near future if the trial is successful. I cant really say much more than this at the moment until it is made public but hopefully next time you stay you will see that it has changed for the better.

Thank you once again.

Kind Regards,

Paul
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
174 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

I have rated this hotel 1 star due to the bad attitude of the reception staff, I booked a room rate that wasn't prepay, Hours before I got to the hotel my credit card was debited the night before my stay for the full room rate, when challenging this with the front desk, I cocky girl and lad who looked about 14 just gave me a hard time and where so rude and stated, WE CAN DO WHATEVER WE WANT. Nice attitude guy's...

Priority Club member and this is how there treat there loyal guest who stays in the IHG chain over 100 times per year.

Apart from the staff nice hotel.....

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressChester, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is in IHG terms and conditions of booking that hotels are able to perform a pre authorisation of a guests card before arrival. I have checked back onto your booking and can see that the card was pre-authorised before arrival and the payment was finalised after arrival. The pre authorisation just gives the hotel an indication that there is funds available and that we are guaranteed our payment even in the event of a no show or late cancellation . Please accept my apologies if you feel that our staff were rude upon explaining this to you.

As you will be aware if you stay with us over 100 times per year this is not reflective of the normal high standard of service we provide.

Kind Regards,

Paul
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

Ok location for centre bit of a walk, right on chester racecourse so good for that, however rooms were small and a bit shabby shelves hanging from walls etc, we booked online 3 rooms for 8 people which was stated in the booking. After we had checked out a week later i had a £70 charge on my credit card that nobody had told me about or mentioned and it had been taken without my consent, they said this was for the 3rd person in each of the 2 rooms however it was stated in my booking online that it would be 8 people and a final bill was given and paid in full straight away. The staff had mpre than enough chances to tell me about this but never did so please beware of extra charges for this hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressChester, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I would just like to highlight the booking conditions I have already highlighted in numerous communications with you.

When booking a room the rate given is based on 1 or 2 people sharing a double or twin bedded room. Any extra adults need to pay a £35.00 third person charge which is clearly stated on all booking channels. This particular reservation was made online where this information is stated and you would have had to agree to the terms and conditions on the booking. If you are still unhappy with this response please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel for a further explanation.

We hope that this misunderstanding in rates will not deter you from staying with us again in the near future as you stated on the first email sent to me that you were welcomed by friendly staff and had a great stay.

Kind Regards,

Paul Day
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Good Points

Bed and Breakfast for two adults £41 with free parking. Booked direct with Holiday Inn
Free Parking
5 minute walk from Town Centre
Room was clean and tidy
Good Breakfast

Bad Points

The hotel was relatively empty yet they put us at the very end of the hotel right next to the railway line. Little to no sleep for us
The heating in the room was controlled by the key card. However we were out all day and it was -4 outside. Returned to the room and it was absolutely freezing. You should be able to leave the heating on when you go out
TV in the room had only terrestial channels, no sky or freeview

Sum up other then the problems we faced the hotel represented good value and was centrally located. Beware the rooms right next to the railway line, our room was literally 12-14 feet away from the line itself. The hotel should fill these rooms last.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse

Address: The Racecourse on New Crane Street, Chester CH1 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chester
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel and just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our complimentary breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas.We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park, and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms. Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre.We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse, making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside.Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions. You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.Please contact the hotel directly for group bookings and race day packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.