We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Racecourse on New Crane Street, Chester CH1 2LY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Chester
Yorkshire England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed in a family room for one night. Lovely view over the racecourse and a bonus of free parking. Room was fine and bed was comfortable. Reception staff were lovely and directed us to the new affiliated restaurant at the racecourse The White Horse which was excellent. There was even a golf buggy available to take us from the hotel to the restaurant! Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Would stay again when in Chester.

Room Tip: Ask for view of racecourse
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you taking the time out to review your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course, I am delighted to hear you enjoy your time with us and thank you for your kind comments regarding staff, I will pass this on to our team.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our new restaurant at the Race course, and your breakfast with us in the morning.

Once again thank you for taking your time out to review your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future

Kind regards

Steven Scoullar
Operation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    317
    126
    47
    16
See reviews for
112
329
12
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rishton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on Easter Monday. We arrived early and was told the room was not available which was quite ok, so parked the car on the excellent free car park (a bonus in Chester) and went for a walk. On return we were given the keys to our room and our first thoughts were they could have given them to us previously, as the first thing on entering was the terrible sewage smell coming from the bathroom, we then noticed half eaten crisps littering the couch in the room coupled with peanuts embedded in the dust under the bed, obviously left by the previous guests. Water was still in the kettle which was sat on a worktop that had obviously not been wiped down from probably several previous occupants as it was covered in several layers of dust. We should have demanded another room then but as it was only for 1 night we got on with it but the smell from the bathroom kept my wife awake most of the night!
We visit Chester quite regularly for short breaks and used this hotel last year with no problems, yes it is quite reasonably priced compared to other hotels but what price cleanliness!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of The Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

Please accept my sincere apologies regarding the housekeeping problems you found on arrival. I can assure you this is not our usual standard nor is this acceptable. I have passed your comments on to the Head Housekeeper who assures me the relevant action will be taken. Under no circumstances should a guest check in to a dirty room and will be investigating this further personally.

I have recently been in touch regarding the problems experienced and look forward to welcoming you back to Chester soon; I am keen to ensure that we provide you with the true experience we have to offer at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I would like to thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.

Kind Regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stopped in here on Monday (8th April) night and it's not the best to be honest. No warm welcome on arrival, horrible room with an adjoining door, room wasn't that clean either.

People in the room next door were smoking (with the window open) which was then allowing smoke to come through the bottom of my door.
Really basic and just not a great experience, I have stopped there in the past but the standards have just slipped.

It's the little things like the door key not working, then having to go back down stairs to see the guy on reception who really didn't look that interested.

Some could argue that it is an express, but it still needs to have standards.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Paul W,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow me to apologize for the issues you had with your room accommodations and the service you received was less than satisfactory. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class excellence. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Two adults, two rooms for one night stay and the hotel was perfectly acceptable. Rooms were clean, functional and comfortably warm. The view out over Chester race course was something different from your usual town based hotel. Parking is next to the hotel and easy, but I would imagine it could be a trial on race days. Being close to the city centre you don't need to use the car once parked. The rooms were comnfortable, quiet and breakfast the following morning was more than adequate. All in all a very pleasent stay for a reasonabl price.

Room Tip: An East to South facing room will have you overlooking the race course and away form the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review regarding the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us; you comments are much appreciated and will be passed on to the team too.

We have a large car park and on race days all guests are guaranteed car parking on site whether in the hotel car park or Chester Racecourse car park which is complimentary.

Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night to visit Chester for some shopping. Location fine 10 minute walk to main shopping area. The room size was ok but the bed was terrible, worst night sleep I have had in a hotel for a long time. The breakfast was adequate buffet style with hot and cold choices. Free coffee in the lobby all day was a nice touch and the bar was open late. Plenty of parking spaces and we were allowed to leave our car there after checking out to go shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester Race course. Please accept my apologies for the uncomfortable bed and lack of sleep you got, this is not up to our usual stand and I will get that sorted with immediate effect.

I'm please to see you enjoyed the breakfast and the complimentary drinks throughout the day.

Once again thank you for taking the time out to review the hotel and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just arrived back from an overnight stay at the Holiday Inn at Chester Racecourse. Hotel is clean and modern, staff are friendly. Good choice at breakfast. Could have done with more milk in the bedroom, only enough for two cups of tea and some biscuits would have been good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express, Chester Racecourse.

I'm please to see you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your kind comments regarding staff and the cleanliness of the hotel.

Once again thank you for taking the time out to view your recent stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future

Kind regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

we stayed here for one night on thur 4th of april as we were going to the mansfield town game with wrexham the inn was in the perfect location just a few mins walk from town center and ammenities the cathedral the lake and plenty of shops and pubs the holiday inn itself was very clean and comfortable the breakfast all you could eat and all in the price staff very friendly and helpfull

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us.

I am pleased to see your enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your kind comments, I will pass this on to our team who will be very grateful of your comments

We hope to see you again in the near future

KIind regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse

Address: The Racecourse on New Crane Street, Chester CH1 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chester
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel and just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our complimentary breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas.We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park, and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms. Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre.We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse, making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside.Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions. You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.Please contact the hotel directly for group bookings and race day packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.