We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly worn but very clean and brilliant staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Hotel Chester North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Hotel Chester North to your Saves list
Days Hotel Chester North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Welsh Road | Sealand, Deeside, Chester CH5 2HX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Chester
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Slightly worn but very clean and brilliant staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I can not rate the staff team at this hotel enough. I planned a surprise reunion for family members from all over the country - only to then find out the restaurant was closed due to a private wedding. The hotel gave me their board room - laid it out for 24 diners and space for a small choir to sing! They worked so hard to make our family event perfect. The food was excellent. The rooms very clean. Despite being rushed off their feet with wedding guests and us, all the staff remained constantly helpful and smiling. In particular my thanks to Kate and Kaylee who made us feel we were the only people in their busy world. Very recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    66
    39
    27
    17
See reviews for
28
92
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel is a little out of the way of any population but is accessable by car and has parking amenities.
The room was tidy and had all necessary items for the stay, definately a PLUS having plug sockets by the bed! Even though these were for the bedside lamps, it made a nice change to be able to charge your phone and turn your alarm off the next morning without having to get oout of the bed and find your phone!
We didnt have the breakfast or evening meal so cant comment on the food but the gym facilities were good and combined in with the cost of the room. One downside being that the noise of the traffic makes it difficult if you need to open the windows overnight!
A really good value stay overall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattKnight, General Manager at Days Hotel Chester North, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments in relations to your recent stay. i am delighted to that you enjoyed your visit to us and i do hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. i would agree it is close to main roads but it not disturb us. No air con but a fan was available for use in the room if required. We also had a problem with the camber maid leaving the windows wide open on the ground floor but asked to her to ensure they were locked in future and she did. Nice and clean. Found the room small and very limited storage space, no drawers for your smalls etc.

We were asked to pay £30 per night for our pet who would fit in a shoe box, which was a bit naughty considering they advertise no charge for pets unless cleaning is required which is far enough. However, this was very quickly resolved with the Manager.

The staff were a really nice, helpful bunch who made us very welcome and our stay really enjoyable. We rreally enjoyefd the pool and jacuzzi, which was also very clean and towels were provided. Had a pleasant stay, have recommended it and would go back.

Good road networks and close to Chester ;}

Room Tip: Ground floor may have less travel noise, the wall outside of our window may have blocked the noise w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattKnight, General Manager at Days Hotel Chester North, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your review of the hotel and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We value your feedback and will use it to enhance the product that we have.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The room was very basic to be fair clean (cant say the same for the corridors), however when people are mentioning a 'busy road' it is actually a 'busy motorway'. Open the curatins to see vans and lorries passing by. The hotel has no air con meaning on a warm night you have the decision of listening to heavy motorway traffic ( which you do anyway when the windows not open) or putting up and shutting up. The reception/bar staff were very unwelcoming after a meal and drink in Chester we decided to give in to the heavy rain and have a drink at the hotel however the staff refused to serve us until we had produced a room key for proof of residence despite them checking us in only hours before. The shower was noisy enough to rival the motorway. We were lucky and didnt book breakfast at the hotel or use the sauna. The review in short dont believe what you see in the pictures it is nothing like......nothing!! Oh and its nowhere near the centre at least £12.00 in a taxi each way !!

Room Tip: If you have to book there specify not next to the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattKnight, General Manager at Days Hotel Chester North, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we welcome all feedback, I am disapointed that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as we would wish for and I apologise if this has been the case.

I do hope your experience would not deter you from stying with us again.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

we stayed here in July for 2 nights, the staff are very helpful and friendly but this doesn't make up for the location, right next to the very busy road. The room we were in was a nice standard, but no air con, and to have the window open meant enduring heavy traffic noise all night, followed by a the morning call of a bird in its nest right outside the window....we asked for a fan in the room the next day which helped keep us cool and drown out traffic noise! There's a very small pool, and unfortunately the jacuzzi wasn't working during our stay, the fish spa is worth trying, didn't eat here so cant comment on that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattKnight, General Manager at Days Hotel Chester North, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and I am disapointed that the location of the hotel was not to your liking. One of our strengths as a hotel is our location with great links to the motorway network, allowing people to explore the stunning North Wales countryside and local cities such as Chester and Liverpool, but this is not for everyone.

Thank you once again for your feedback and it is very welcome.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night while with a tour group. Many in our group agreed it was the least desirable of the 9 properties we stayed in. The room and bathroom were clean and a decent size. The staff seemed to be willing to accommodate us. We had a very nice tub in the bathroom. However-- we were on the first floor facing the motorway, and, as others have noted, there was a lot of traffic noise. Even worse, a strong outside light continued to shine above our curtains all night. There was no way to shut it out. Our bed was very uncomfortable with the mattress feeling like it was stuffed with straw. Not a good night's sleep at all! In the morning we discovered that the shower in the room above ours had somehow leaked/cascaded into our bathroom and had soaked our items that were on a high shelf not directly near the shower. When we checked more closely, we could see signs that this had probably happened before. When my husband reported this to reception, she didn't seem at all surprised. As for the restaurant, breakfast was average, nothing outstanding. Our dinner was a mixed bag. The tortillini was quite good. The starter fishcakes were not. The rest was just average. So, a mediocre experience all around with a poor night's sleep.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattKnight, General Manager at Days Hotel Chester North, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I am disapointed and surpirsed to read your comments regarding your recent stay with us as it didn't reflect the feedback we recieved fromthe rest of your group.

Your feedback is extremely valuable and will be used to improve on our service levels.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The hotel was in a very good location for getting to Chester only 4 miles away on the A454 (drive down the A454 just past a texaco garage and you have a park n ride for £1.70pp, just have enough change!!) the only thing that i can complain about was that on our last day staying at the hotel was the chambermaid left our windows wide open,we were on the ground floor so you could see the problem!!!! other than that the gym was excellent and pool

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattKnight, General Manager at Days Hotel Chester North, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your comment regarding the hotel and your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Hotel Chester North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Hotel Chester North

Address: Welsh Road | Sealand, Deeside, Chester CH5 2HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Chester
#8 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Hotel Chester North 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your quality hotel in Chester! Our unique location on the North Wales border, close proximity to Chester City Centre and the M53 / M56 motorway network means we are ideally placed to explore the local area and beyond, with Liverpool, Manchester and The Wirral in easy reach. From weddings, family celebrations, private and corporate dinners, to meetings, seminars or training events, our function rooms offer some of the most spacious and flexible conference and banqueting facilities in North Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Days Hotel Chester North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway To Wales Chester
Hotel Gateway To Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Hotel Chester North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.