We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hen night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Koconut Grove

Koconut Grove
Unit 1 , Ethos Court | City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
01244325888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 411 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: $11 - $32
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Hen night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We chose this restaurant as it was within walking distance from the hotel we stayed at. Quickly seated and drinks order taken. Food was beautiful and plenty of it. Staff could have been more approachable. Felt they wanted you in there, but didn't want to interact with you. Lady member of staff really nice and helpful.
Lovely food, would recommend, service needs to improve.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    61
    19
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

If you like Indian food, do try the (great value) south Indian buffet on Sundays: highly recommended! We have been 3 times now in 2 months and the selection is always excellent! We have also had lunches here, and a la carte. The food and service are always excellent. I am surprised that some people find the food bland. I love spicey food! If you fancy something extra spicey you can always ask for extra chillis in your dish. Many of the dishes are garnished with fried dried chillis: we sometimes ask for extra just in case we want it spicier. The addition of coconut milk to a curry usually reduces the perceived heat level?

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caergwrle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“First visit to Koconut Grove and it won't be the last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Saturday night at Koconut Grove Chester we did book a table in advance.

The ambiance was great, fun and lively.

The decoration was modern, the lighting was good, tables and linen all very clean neat and tidy, it looked great inside.

Staff are all very friendly and lots of lovely genuine smiles.

Good selection on the menu and not over the top prices for wine.

We had spiced whitebait with chilli sauce and lamb kebab with mint dressing and salad to start with and both were very tasty, we also ordered a couple of popadoms to come out at the same time and they were lovely and fresh, nice and crunchy and fresh chutneys. So starters were definite hit.

For the mains we had kochin Prawn Masala with pilau rice and Chicken Dosa which comes with it's own chutney and curry sauce. We also ordered a side of onion bhaji, poori and paratha and they were all very yummy. With the chicken Dosa when you read the menu you don't really know what to expect if you haven't had it before, but when it came to the table my husband was very pleasantly surprised.

We honestly can't fault any of the food we had, it was presented very nicely, looked very fresh, great colours, and tasty, yummy!

It may have been our first visit but it won't be a last and can honestly recommend giving Koconut Grove a try.

Also note they do have parking available available but I don't know if it's free as we didn't use it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Superb Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

If you are looking for something different to the usual Indian, then the Koconut Grove is well worth a visit. Offering food from Southern India, the dishes are subtle and delicately flavoured. There are still some spicy options but this is food to savour!

As a family of 4 with two 10 year olds who only like a Korma, we were not disappointed with the options on offer. This is certainly one of the best Indian meals we have ever eaten in a lovely, welcoming environment. This is well worth discovering.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed. Best indian in cheshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I eat at koconut groove quiet frequently with my family. I must say its possibly the best indian in cheshire, and possibly in the north west. This time we tried kumarakam fish moli, fennel lamb curry, malabar lamb peralan and mangalore chicken .. A selection of rices, poori bread and paratha bread. The dishes are full of flavour, unique in the own way.
South indian options from their menu is highly recommended, considering is a south indian restaurant. They have north indian options too, but again, it will not be the same as your other balti houses. South indian curry's are totakly different to the ones in north.
You can try dosa's here .. A perfect surprise.
Will certainly return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koconut Grove also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Koconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koconut Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.