We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience and Staff Behaviour” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Koconut Grove

Koconut Grove
Unit 1 , Ethos Court | City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
01244325888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 390 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $32
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bad experience and Staff Behaviour”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We visit on 23rd December 2013 at 1.30pm and have an absolute bad experience at this restaurant. We had to wait for more than an hour and requested staff can they be quick for the desert. The staff/manager at present said " We/customer have to understand that we/customer are not alone and we/customer didn't come first. We didn't let him know that we need our main course before an hour". Is that your service?? Really with an attitude and disrespect tone. He really has ruined our day and sorry to say we will never visit again and recommend anyone not to visit. If anyone want to visit please get ready to be contempteous hospitality!!!!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    67
    24
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bala, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations Veggie Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

What an absolute gem to stumble across this restaurant in Chester-it does indeed outshine most other South Indian Restaurants including those in the Curry Mile Manchester. Pleasant staff, clean wholesome decor but best of all food made with care and so tasty it is almost unbelievable!
We are both veggie but have taken friends who eat meat and they are very impressed with the quality of the food. We used our Tastecard there as they are participants but the cost is so moderate to be honest it is hardly worth belonging to. Sometimes you can be lucky and get a table but best to book especially in party season. Extra bonus is the car park above the restaurant which is free so you can relax. I'd make the journey to try this gem out at least once!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Dependably brilliant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I have loved Koconut Grove since my first visit and made many more since. The food is fantastic - I particularly recommend the chilli paneer and the prawn dosa - the staff are quietly efficient and very helpful and the place always seems to be empty when we go which makes no sense to me at all.
I particularly appreciate that the prices are fantastically good value and the restaurant is part of both the Tastecard and Gourmet Society discount schemes. Dinner for five adults this week came to just £87 after discounts and half the party were so full they needed to go home and lie down. They also left with their leftovers neatly packed up in a doggy bag. Great value, great service and a menu that's very different from your every day Indian.

On the downside, the lighting makes it feel a little like you're in the chiller cabinets at the supermarket (oddly blue) and when the tandoor's not fired up (as happened a couple of months back) the Kerala parathas are not a very nice alternative.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very good.....and just a little different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The restaurant is handily placed about 5 minutes walk from Chester Railway Station.

We ate here on a filthy wet Wednesday night but the restaurant was still quite busy. We initiallly chose this restaurant because we were looking for something different to the standard menu offered in many Indian restaurants and we weren't disappointed. The food was all first class and we had beef dosa, chicken jalfrazi and karnataka prawn curry as main courses. An English menu is also available, if required.

Service was friendly and efficient.

We would all be keen to come back here again and 'attack' some of the other dishes on the menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poulton
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

So easy to miss and such a good find for refined Indian Foodies. Easily for us outshone anything ion the curry mile in Manchester. Excellent food and service that could be no better helping with choice and advising on all their dishes. Food to die for with some dishes I cant wait to get back and try. Honestly not a fault to be found and well done the Koconut team.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koconut Grove also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Koconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koconut Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.