We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, we enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
south wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overall, we enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa for 2 nights early October as my husband ran Chester Marathon. It was a lovely hotel but because we booked our room through booking.com back in April, we did not know there was a wedding on the day. We saw the bride and she looked absolutely beautiful :)
But I just wished our room was away from the function room as we could hear music until very late. My husband was too tired to change the room, so we did not say anything. We should check next time (that's something we learned.)
Despite that, the swimming pool was big and clean, and the garden was stunning, well maintained and so relaxing.
We went to the city centre Sunday evening. We asked the reception about the taxi cost and it was around £12-£15, but he also gave us a local bus information. Return tickets to the city centre was £4, and the last bus from the centre was about 11pm. It was quite convenient.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay in Chester and would like to come back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    306
    100
    25
    14
See reviews for
165
571
13
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just had an amazing weekend at the Grosvenor. We have been lucky enough to stop in some amazing hotels around Europe but this is without doubt the best hotel we have stayed in, in the UK. The rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable, the restaurant has the ambience of the finest Mediterrarean restaurant and you would be forgiven for thinking you were not in England. The Spa is out of this world, the design and decor is very well thought out and the treatment staff are second to none. The Asian Sensory Garden is equisite. The staff are very attentive and nothing is too much trouble. Cant wait to come back and visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

went here earlier this year and had a lovely weekend with other half. Room was beautiful and overlooked the zen gardens to the rear so very peaceful. Had a lovely meal in the restaurant all local produce. We swam in the lovely relaxing pool and i had a lovely spa treatment. The breakfast in the morning was very tasty and we really didn't want to leave. Will defo go back as it's such good value for money.

Room Tip: all rooms are good but maybe don't go for one over the function rooms while a wedding is on
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Excellent hotel in so many ways, staff, food, garden, bar, bedrooms, I could go on but enough to say the owners and staff of this hotel know what they are doing. A huge plus for us is that the hotel is dog friendly and this along with the great food in the dinning room will take us back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester U.K.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I visited this hotel along with my brother and sister in law. The trip was organised through Travelzoo so the price was advantageous.

The hotel is in an excellent location with splendid views, the service, the dinner at night and the breakfast next day was second to none.

We made full use of the fabulous pool, just wish we had taken to option for a second day.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I spent a wonderful day in the spa at The Grosvenor Pulford with some girl friends. We were all very impressed with the beautiful surroundings, professional staff and we all had amazing treatments. Will definitely return, probably one of the best spas around with gorgeous food !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were at a wedding here last weekend. The hotel and grounds were ideal for this purpose. Beautiful gardens for photographs. The venue itself was perfect and the food was very good and well presented. Staff had a good sense of humour and couldn't have been more helpful. The only gripe would be, that there is no signal for mobile phones!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.