We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and food - enjoyed every minute!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and food - enjoyed every minute!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed for a weekend family event: all enjoyed the accomodation.

Highlights were the private dining room with fantastic service: particularly from the lead / head waiter whose attention to detail and thoughtful service really made the event something special.

The quality of the food is great; way above average... both the evening meals and the breakfasts were excellent.

Excellent location for Chester; outside the main city centre but close enough for easy travel.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    306
    100
    25
    14
See reviews for
165
571
13
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Myself and 5 friends stayed here for 1 night and really liked it. Rooms were spacious and clean, bar area had a nice warm feel and was a lovely place to have a drink. The pool/jacuzzi/steam room and sauna were all pleasant to use and all staff were friendly and approachable. Ten minutes from the centre of Chester as well so location wise, it's very good. Only minor thing I would mention was that there was no vegetarian alternative for the bacon/sausages/blackpudding at breakfast in the morning. There were plenty of cereals, fruit and eggs etc but it would have been nice to have some sort of veggie sausages or something (I did ask the waitor who asked the chef). Saying that I still ate well so it didn't cause any problems.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Having spent the weekend with family celebrating the renewal of vows we decided to continue on to Chester for the remainder of the weekend. I did some research and found the Grosvenor Pulford online. We booked for a one night stay on the Sunday evening. Once we arrived having found the hotel very easily we were very efficiently checked in and shown to our room. I had a complimentary upgrade to an executive room (No.58) and both me and my partner were very impressed. The room was very big with an extremely comfy bed. We even had views across the countryside to the Welsh Mountains. The bathroom was equally as big and had a fab shower. We eventually headed down to the Spa area which is complimentary to staying guests, lockers and towels are all provided. The spa is very well done and a great area to relax, sadly the sauna was out of order whilst there but we still got to use the pool, jacuzzi, and steam room. After changing we headed down to Ciros for the sunday carvery, £9.95 I think it was and it was indeed very good with plenty to eat and the biggest Yorkshire puddings I have seen in a long while. Ciros was a very nice restaurant and had a lovely atmosphere, which was equally as nice for breakfast in the morning as well. There is also Nelsons bar which is very nice for a quiet drink and a bar meal if you wanted something less formal than Ciros.

All in all we had an extremely nice stay at this very nice hotel and would highly recommend it as I would Chester and the surrounding area for a break. We would stay here again if in the area!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Stayed at the Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa and had to leave a review about it!!
First impressions were very good, old building with character. We arrived early so had alook around the grounds as it was a nice summer,s day. Beautiful gardens and ponds
with swans and ducks, and very tranquil. Check in was friendly and quick, just what you want after a long drive. We made the most of the leisure facilities, which are as good as
we have seen anywhere. The room was a double standard which was a good size, clean,
and had everything you need, Went to Chester for our evening meal but had breakfast
and it was excellent!! Checkout was also fast and friendly same as the rest of our stay.
IN A NUTSHELL, STAY HERE AND YOU WONT BE DISAPOINTED, HONEST!!!

Room Tip: Room Tip; Room 56, quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HULL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Allow more time to visit the spa and pool which are fabulous. Great base for visiting Chester without being in the centre.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham,cheshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Myself & my husband had our wedding at this hotel on the 25th June & the service has been unbelievable since we booked it 18 months ago. Nothing was too much trouble for Natalie during the lead up to the wedding. Maurice & Alastair were beyond excellent on the day and are two of the nicest people you will ever meet. Their attention to detail and organisation meant our day ran without a hitch. Our guests were blown away by the venue, not only it's facilities & friendly staff but they said the food was the best wedding food they have ever tasted. The rooms were clean & spacious with comfortable beds. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel for a wedding, spa weekend or even a meal out at the a la carte restaurant. I would like to extend our personal thanks to Maurice, Alastair, Natalie, Richard and Ronnie as without them, our day would not have been the huge success that it was.

Mark & Alex (married 25/06/11)

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

When we have a chance to escape without our 3 girls my husband & I always choose to stay at The Grosvenor Pulford! Every stay we come away wanting to return asap - the staff our courteous, friendly, proffessional & efficient, we have never had a bad meal & eat in the lounge & restaurant & everything has been delicious. Rooms are spotless & beautifully appointed. The leisure facilities are super & we love it if theres a wedding on & we can see all the guests in their outfits !! They work hard at The Grosvenor & they make guests feel special & every guest feels there stay has been special. Were looking forward to another stay !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.