We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food is so good the place should be heaving...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plush Spice - CLOSED

Plush Spice
Newhall Road, Chester ch2 1tb, England
01244 321234
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The food is so good the place should be heaving...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

7:30pm on a Saturday night and yet there was only one other party in probably the best Indian restaurant in Chester. (Although there were a few people coming in for take-aways.)
I was with 5 others and all really enjoyed the food. (I had the Fayaz Bhuna and would recommend it - especially if you like fried onions). The staff are friendly and the restaurant is spotless and clean and furnished to a high standard, bright and airy. The prices are fair too. Our table bill for 6 came to £138 and that included bottles of wine, a good few beers and coffee and tea. This is a place that deserves to thrive; if it were in the city centre it would be a smash hit. As it is, it's slightly off the beaten track, on a residential street (plenty of free parking) around the corner from a collection of local shops . But it's worth taking the trouble to find. You'll want to go back for more. You can have a good night here as a large group or a cosy twosome in a quiet corner of the large dining area if that's what you want.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    5
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Surprisingly very very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Second visit and on both occasions the welcome , service, decor , cleanliness and most importantly the food is excellent. Superb menu. If you haven't been , do give it a try . We certainly will return. I expect it is a great venue for a large party given its size .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

My family are now regular visitors to this restaurant. The service is always very friendly & welcoming but the food, well, it is simply fantastic! I would even go as far as to say it's one of the best Indian restaurants I've been to. Anywhere.

Top marks from me & I am sure to return in the not too distant future.

Many thanks Plush Spice for another beautiful meal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“the best indian so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Well for a quick, where shall we go tonight, this was a real find.
We have acquired a 'taste card' so wanted somewhere that would take it on a saturday. We called to book late afternoon.
The area is not where you would expect it to be but the inside is amazing. Very modern decor, clean, neat and tidy with great loos.
Samosas and mixed kebab to start after the freshest pops and tasty chutney tray. Homemade obviously.
Shirlosk?? can't remember how it's spelt, chicken with mustard and yogurt and chilli chicken masala as mains. Both amazing with lots of chicken not just sauce in both. The garlic and keema naan were freshly cooked and delicious too.
Rose and cobra to drink...£41 with the tastecard 25% discount discount.
We will most definitely be back. Thank you x

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“modern indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

went as a couple. decor modern staff very friendly servic attentive now the best bit, the food ,extensive menu we both had tandoori chicken legs well presented and tasty . next I had chicken korai served in a sizzzling platter it was scrummy . my husband had lamb bhuna again very tasty . the pace of service was a liitle slow BUT the food is cooked to order well worth wait . we will be returning .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plush Spice also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plush Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.