We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Friendly Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dublin Packet

The Dublin Packet
Rhos Y Gaer Terrace, Chester, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #141 of 410 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: English, Brew Pub
Restaurant details
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Friendly Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

A real friendly local pub without the pretentious bells and whistles to which some pubs in Chester focus on,

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This pub gets some good reviews so my wife and I paid it a visit. I wish we had gone elsewhere. Poor choice of real ales only one and the place appeared tired and shabby. Staff were good. Did not eat so I can't comment on the food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lasagne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My wife and I go here regularly. They make the best Lasagne in Chester in our opinion, very friendly staff and a nice atmosphere. We travel from Holywell in N Wales regularly just for their Lasagne, yummy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

You have to pay a visit. The pub previously owned by football legend Dixie Dean I believe. His shirt hangs in the bar! Right in the middle of Northgate. Nice atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“guiness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

had lunch there 22/9/13,although,myself,I don't like guiness,plenty of people do,the atmosphere,was great,
as well as the food,the place was filling up because of a big Irish football match,our friends also agree with
me.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dublin Packet also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Dublin Packet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dublin Packet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.