We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grosvenor arms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grosvenor Arms

Grosvenor Arms
Chester Road | Alford, Chester CH3 6HJ, England
01244 620228
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 411 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“grosvenor arms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Go several times a year, a quick check on trip advisor nearly made me think twice, we had a great meal friendly but not in your face service, piping hot food, no significant wait even for a Saturday evening, food excellent, no complaints, if you've not been go, if you have been go back again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    38
    25
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent Gastro Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was our second stay in the area and third visit to the pub for evening meals. It is a lovely country pub which allows dogs in one of the area which we found useful. Staff are mostly young and enthusiastic and the service is very good.

The food is well cooked with lots of interesting dishes to choose from, their French onion soup was the best I have had for a long time. I would certainly recommend this as the best pub in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pubtastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have just been to this beautiful pub for dinner with 2 kids on a Saturday night. We did try to book but had left it too late, however staff advised us that they did not book out all the tables for people dropping in. We arrived early and managed to get a table no problem.
Lovely atmosphere in the place - lots of people sitting outside - the garden was gorgeous and the children loved playing in it.
We ordered the Malaysian chicken, the duck breast and the pasta dish for kids - all beautifully prepared and delicious. Puddings were fantastic - the best bread and butter pudding I have ever tasted.
Next time we are here we will definitely be visiting again - I highly recommend it and to me it is what I imagined a proper English pub would be like - give it a go!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The only pub chain I recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Been to this place a few times now and have never had a bad meal yet. Brunning & Price seem to really know their stuff when it comes to running a gastro pub.

The food is fresh and very tasty with a little experimentation to keep the diner on their feet. the pub itself has been tastefully decorated in keeping with the age of the building but comfortable and with a relaxing atmosphere to boot. The beer garden is extensive with a patio area and extensive lawn that was ideal for my baby son to totter about in after diner.

Staff are friendly and helpful and have never had one that can't give you a warm smile.

Fully recommend this place and indeed the other two Brunning & Price pubs in the area : The Harkers Arms, Chester and Pant yr Ochian, Gresford.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We ate here two times when we visited Chester for a week. The food was excellent and the service was excellent.

The pub has a lovely garden which the kids loved playing in.

Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grosvenor Arms also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Grosvenor Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grosvenor Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.