We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and excellent service ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whitchurch Rd | Christleton, Chester CH3 5QL, England (Formerly Ramada Jarvis Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Chester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable and excellent service ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

On business for one night. Had difficulties with TV but after calling reception a guy called Phil helped with it in minutes. Excellent service from check in through to check out. Went for my evening meal and was met by Phil and Anthony who were very friendly and helpful and even recommended some places to see in Chester - will certainly be back !

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    272
    188
    90
    49
See reviews for
123
399
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of a Christmas shopping trip to Chester. Hotel located right next to the Park and Ride bus into Chester. Had the option of including evening meal onto our package which turned out to be very pleasant and good value for money. Dining room lacked a bit of character, but would think in the summer it would be very pleasant. Staff very polite and helpful. Good road link into Liverpool the next day (took around 20 mins)

Basic but would recommend

Room Tip: Room tended to be on the chilly side so worth turning heating up
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel.

Regards

Chris Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Spa weekend was bought as a birthday presant as i am 6 months pregnant. I have never been so stressed, upset and disappointed. Everything was wrong. Booking(wrong as was double instead of twin , treatments booked then cancelled and coukd not rebook. Room (tiny , dirty and not as pictured). Service.. (none. Had to carry my case up and down lots of stairs pregnant with no offer of help, no apology for things being late dirty and inadequate). Cleanliness( curtains, carpets walls, chairs broken and dirty). .......i checked in and checked back out.......still awaiting refund promised by paul smith operations manager!
2* if its lucky

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence. As I understand it, your reservation was through a third party and Paul will be contacting you directly about this shortly.

I do hope that you will return to the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel in the near future thus allowing us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Yours sincerely
James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, Wales
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here for one night to celebrate my birthday.
Easy hotel to find with plenty of parking.
The whole hotel was spotless and even though the room was simple had everything that we needed and more.
Would definitely stay here again and for a longer duration.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester Abbots Well on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Why not follow us on twitter @mercurechester or like us on Facebook at ‘Mercure Chester Abbots Well’ for special offers and information.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Had a weekend Christmas shopping/spa break. Room clean except hair in the shower!!! Staff very friendly, but hotel lacked atmosphere. Toilets in public area still needed cleaning from Christmas party the night before, at 1pm on Sunday lunchtime. We had to wait 20 minutes for breakfast while they set tables, they must have known how many people were staying. The hotel lacked finesse, the staff did the basics, but didn't go that extra inch. Went to the pool for a swim and told they didn't have towels, that we had to bring them from the rooms. The gentleman at the spa reception was also eating his lunch while he was talking to us. We walked out. It's a shame, hotel in excellent position for Chester and could be a wonderful place to stay with the correct person in charge to sort it out. Not sure I would stay here again, would consider staying at the Cheshire Cat Inn just down the road. Far more welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be suitable for you, but disappointed that on this occasion we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.

I do hope that you will return to the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely
James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Address: Whitchurch Rd | Christleton, Chester CH3 5QL, England (Formerly Ramada Jarvis Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Chester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#13 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in spacious grounds located in quiet suburb overlooking famous Abbots Well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Chester
Chester Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.