We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired Hotel, staff doing their best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Chester South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Chester South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Chester South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Chester
Batley
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tired Hotel, staff doing their best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The staff were very good at the desk, bar & pool. The hotel however is tired & very uninspiring. The bar is a pleasant area as is the restaurant but the prices are way over what they should be, after all this is a very under average Holiday Inn & the prices charged for food & drink seems to suggest its trying to be something that it isnt. I was originally dissapointed that I could not book for here for 2 nights & had to stay at the Holiday Inn Express for 1 night, I now wish I had stayed at the Express for 2 nights.
Not a brilliant location for Chester City, especially as you could stay right in the city at the Crown Plaza which is the same chain, oe the Express which is a short walk.

Food is good but overpriced, not sure what market they are targeting with loaction & prices. Managed to get a very good deal booking in advance on IHG website.

Room Tip: Book welll in advance to get a good rate, or better still, stay elsewhere for peace of mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    246
    126
    50
    33
See reviews for
146
187
24
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
comrie
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very average Hotel this now and getting a bit tired.

My Mrs and I arrived and were booked in with a smile and helpful tips from the super friendly staff. So far so good. The room was .. well... very average but clean and presentable. First thing I had to do was repair the flush mech' in the toilet which had disconnected from the lever arm. OK, no big deal. I fixed it and tightened the clamp screw. Sorted. All in all the stay was comfortable and very acceptable. Good!!

Went for Dinner. Stopped off in the bar as we were a tad early for our booking. Ordered a beer, and a drink for Mrs B. Then we had a look through the Menu. Bearing in mind that fine dining this is not (Frozen fish and Chips for E.G. ) we were somewhat surprised at the prices being asked. (see the Menu pic's attached..) This then prompted me to ask the price of drinks. £4.00 for a pint of beer!!! .... Mrs B's drink was Just a pence or two under £6.00.. !!! For a Bacardi and Coke (from a hand dispenser at nearly £2.00 on it's own)

Disappointed with this we canceled the table for Dinner and took the slightly cheaper bar meal option. The Bill.......£41. odds.... For a Burger and frozen chips and a small Lasagna and Garlic bread with a small salad & 1 Portion of Onion rings (On Menu at £1.50, and charged at £2.10 ) I p't of Stella and a Bacardi and Coke.

We did not spend another penny with them. Why is it that companies like this can't play the game and make a decent profit whilst charging a fair price? Now I am not a tightwad by any means, but I do object to being off. I think £4.00 for a Pint of lager is too much for this hotel. the dining room /bar area again being (IMHO) very plain and tired looking and devoid of any character whatsoever. Bland springs to mind.

Breakfast prices were not much better and I think overpriced too. We never book Breakfast as we like to wait and see how we feel in the morning. In which case Breakfast charge was just under £14.00 each..(advance booked just under £10.00 each).
Not brilliant food either. I asked about the Fish.. Frozen? Yes sir! Chips? Frozen? Yes sir.. Etc etc...

JMHO ...... We will avoid this one from now on. And this is from a Holiday Inn fan... Hmmm....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I'd booked a family room months before as we were intending on stopping off in Chester before heading up to the Lake District for half term. £49 for bed breakfast and use of the swimming pool seemed excellent value for the four of us. We had a warm welcome and the receptionist showed us where we could store our bikes inside the hotel before we headed off to the zoo. The room had two single beds for the children, was warm, comfortable and very quiet. Breakfast was excellent (better than Whittlebury Hall where we'd stayed a few weeks previously), although we did have to wait to be seated. The staff were very friendly (as were the taxi drivers to and from town that evening).
Absolutely wonderful stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: 312 didn't have people walking to and from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Booked this 2 night stay through super breaks website, so a bit dubious as it was £87 pp inc evening meal on 1st night and breakfast both mornings. Well what can I say absolutely fabulous. All the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The food was excellent, piping hot, the rooms were nice too. There was a park n ride just across the road to take you into Chester, but the taxi's were only £5, door to door, so to speak. Chester is a great place, shopping in the day, drinking night. We had a great weekend, can highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Reception staff were welcoming and efficient. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was buffet style but the food was replenished regularly and the waiting staff were friendly and helpful. The dining room however cannot cope with the numbers of diners and queuing for a table takes the edge off the eating experience. We did have an evening meal which was overpriced. Fish and chips at £12+ (small portion) and fish pie at £13+ which was cooked in a dessert dish and was 70% potato and 30% fish. Just not acceptable. The waiting staff provided efficient service. Last gripe was that the shower mechanism was broken in the bathroom and the shower would not function. The switching knob on the top of the tap fitting was missing and surely the cleaning staff must have been aware of this?

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in Oct 12 and overall the hotel was very satisfactory. Staff friendly and welcoming and helpful when we asked about getting around locally. Breakfasts were good but we ate other meals out so can't comment on any other aspects of the restaurant. Rooms are good sized, beds comfortable and things worked ok. Only downside was that we reckoned they need to be a bit more vigilant on the cleaning - we'd a chip and some sweet papers lying on the floor adjacent to the bedside cabinets. Hotel is well placed for Chester and there's easy access via the local bus which runs every 10 mins in peak times. Also within very easy motorway access.Overall - an enjoyable stay and we'd return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Nice friendly staff, room was clean and comfortable. Couldn't believe the size of the bed, massive. Yes some parts of the hotel arelooking a bit dated but generally speaking this hotel is fine. One little gripe, the plastic flowers outside are very tacky.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Chester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chester South

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent 1 million refurbishment the Junction Restaurant and Terrace Bar are now contemporary style. All public areas and bedrooms have full air-conditioning and Wi-Fi access has been installed. The hotel is non smoking. The Holiday Inn Chester South is ideally situated on the edge of the Roman City of Chester, located just off the A55 adjacent to Chester Business Park. This Chester hotel offers 143 bedrooms, all with Wi-Fi access. In an excellent location for both business and leisure visitors alike. Benefiting from immediate proximity to Chester and its attractions including Chester Races, Grosvenor Museum, Cathedral, Chester Zoo, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village and Blue Planet Aquarium Holiday Inn Chester South provides an ideal visitor base, with a choice of accommodation including Standard, Executive and Accessible bedrooms.The Holiday Inn Chester South combines an excellent range of facilities for both Business and Leisure travellers including Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The hotel has a fully air conditioned gym, 15m heated swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. Restaurant and Bar serving food and drink throughout the day and 24 hour room service. *Terms & Conditions apply. Please note that the hotel does not have a lift and the Restaurant, Function Suite and meeting rooms are allocated on the 1st floor.For accessible room contact the hotel direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chester South Hotel Chester
Chester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Chester South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.