We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chester Fields

The Chester Fields
Sandfield Farm, Chester, England
+44 (0)1244 303100
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Chester Fields is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 376 restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We are on holiday and looking for somewhere for an evening meal. We can honestly say that this was one of the best meals we have ever eaten in a resturent. It was a busy night with many of us sitting outside which is a beautiful setting. Then the rain started so all went in doors....the staff were great ..seats found for everyone. So thank you to all the staff - we will be back when we are next in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARK J, Managing Director at The Chester Fields, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear nwalesfoodiefan,
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It's great to see thatyou noticed some of the finer details we have put in to The Chester Fields.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    294
    80
    65
    20
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Food, Great Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have been to The Chesterfields on many occasions now and have never had a bad or average experience there.

Last weekend didn't disappoint either, a group of us went and everyone thought the place was amazing, the food was awesome and our waiter really made the day personal.

Well done guys! - We will see you again soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARK J, Managing Director at The Chester Fields, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear jbiggins
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It's always a pleasure looking after you especially when your downing the Champers like you were!!! Sorry I couldn't join you for a glass!
Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice setting, food not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Sat outside on a lovely summer evening, great views.
I ordered rump steak, which cost just under £17. The steak was very chewy and I had to leave most of it. I mentioned this to the waiter who said he would tell the chef, however, we didn't hear anymore.
Upon paying my husband mentioned this again, we only paid half the cost of the steak.
This is the second time we have been here, last time there were also some issues with the food, so we were quite disappointed that things hadn't improved greatly which is a shame as the venue is lovely but the food just doesn't live up to expectations.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARK J, Managing Director at The Chester Fields, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Rachel d,
I'm sorry we appear to have dissapointed you again. If you look at the majortity of our reviews they would hopefully show that your experiences are unfortunate and not normal practise.
The Rump is the most tempremental cut on the cow as it covers the largest area on the beast. Because it's such a large moving muscle it can be tough at times but it shouldn't be chewy as you state. We should have taken the entire meal off your bill as this is unacceptable. Often with this cut you don't know what it's going to like until you cut into it whereas most other cuts like the Fillet or Ribeye, you can tell by the texture.
I hope that you'll return one last time so we can have the opportunity to win you over again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice location and nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

En route to Northwich from Holywell we had to take a detour due to a wide load on A54. Passed the Chester Fields on the way out and decided to try it out for a snack on the way back. Prime concern was a beer garden so i could keep an eye on my Vortx that has no roof , no doors and can't be secured. On arrival the car park was almost full but found a suitable place. We sat in the garden on one of the high stools with tall table. Service at the bar was quick so we orderd drinks and perused the menu. Tried to catch the eye of the waiter but failed miserably.
decided to go and order food from the bar with table number in hand.
We went for the 2 people / 2 courses for £20.13. Limited choice but the Smoked Salmon starter and Cumberland Sausage main we excellent. Service was very prompt. By 13.30 the car park was full and people were driving away disappointed.
Enquired at the bar about the rather random price.........2013 of course and it will be going up a penny next year!! Yet another senior moment.
Will certainly return again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARK J, Managing Director at The Chester Fields, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear HTOTGP,
Thanks for taking the time to write this very complimentary review.
My apologies for the waiter not catching your eye, you certainly shouldn't have had to order at the bar.
The 2013 menu is a limited menu that is designed specifically to give diners the opportunity to have a light lunch at an affordable price. As you mention this will sadly be going up in price next year to 2014! We started this theme last year in honour of a great year for Great Britain with the Olympics and the Queens jubilee and it became so popular that we decided to carry it through.
We hope that the A54 will continue to have a high volume of traffic on it so it will cause you to make another detour!!!
We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Wow! Absolutely fabulous. No complaints.
A very busy Tuesday night (turns out, it was the once monthly, 50% off food discount night). Sat in the beautiful garden enjoying a pre-dinner drink, enjoying the view. We were advised that there was a delay in the kitchen, which didn't surprise us as it was so busy, but good that we were told; not a problem for us, we were enjoying actually being able to sit outside. Before we knew it, we were whisked to our table and served the most delicious meal; I won't list what we ate (check out the menu), suffice to say, my steak was perfectly cooked and melted in the mouth.....yum! Ended the evening sat outside, where I was surprised with cake, served on a plate that had been personalised for me, in celebration of my birthday; what a lovely thing for them to do, a nice touch. These are the type of things that make a restaurant special. Service was excellent, without exception. Thank you.



  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARK J, Managing Director at The Chester Fields, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Chalmerschester,
WOW! what a wonderful review!
I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit to us. We've been very fortunate with the weather this year and we certainly are lucky to have the views that we have over the fields. Our gardens been extremely busy throughout summer and we've just finished building a BBQ that will add even more of a Summer feel to the garden.
I assume by your TA name that you are from Chester so I hope that we will see you again very soon.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chester Fields also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Chester Fields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chester Fields, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.